An Ode to Story-telling

8 Feb

Normally, if I told you I spend a great deal of time hanging with people who are not real, feeling sorry for imagined tragedies, or planning a wedding for two fake people who don’t even like each other [yet], you would probably want to have me institutionalized. But somehow, if I told you it was because I’ve been reading a lot, that’s okay.

It’s no secret that I like fiction. I think a bit of nonsense keeps you interesting, and it most definitely keeps your imagination in good shape. Imagination is a beautiful thing, and if left unattended, it will atrophy and turn into belly fat (that’s my suspicion, anyway; don’t take that piece of information to the bank).

One of my favorite things about fiction is that even though everyone knows it’s fake, it has the power to draw people in and make them feel very real feelings. It stretches one’s imagination and takes it on adventures it never would have thought of embarking on otherwise. So basically, I like to think of fiction as the Gandalf of literature and/or television. An emotionally unbalanced, shape-shifting Gandalf.

This is literally the best metaphor I can come up with right now.

Don’t judge. This is the best metaphor I can come up with right now.

I remember the first time a book made me cry, and it was not pretty. Not far into Ella Enchanted,I ran to my mom sobbing out what I believed to be a good excuse to keep her up at night. I’m not certain if she understood a single word I said, but she toughed it out until I was convinced that  Ella’s mother’s death had no real effect on me.

I ran in crying again about five minutes later, because intellectual reasons to stop crying were not enough for me.

Did I mention my mother is a saint?

Anyhow, my point is, no matter how fictional a story is, how the reader or viewer reacts to it is what matters, and that is as real as anything. That’s why we love stories. We are not robots, we have minds, and we have feelings! We – actually, I’m gonna let the good Doctor take this one:
are you proud

I'm proud

they hurt

ohyes

sounds like someone’s been watching Moffat.

We will not stop imagining.

Long live stories and the adventures they may take us on!

One Response to “An Ode to Story-telling”

  1. Sadie May 25, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    Oh yes!

Leave a Reply

