The One About Readers

15 Feb

If I had a nickel for every time someone told me that they didn’t like to read, I’d probably have about six nickels.

*crickets*

::anticlimactic::

Okay, that isn’t many, but every time I took a step, I would hear those coins singing from my pocket, and I would think, “Oh, right. People are missing out.” And then after that, I would probably take them out and forget about them for a few weeks, and this coin metaphor for my non-reading friends should really have stopped a while ago.

I think that the disease of not reading starts by getting your heart broken. Maybe you read a book you regretted reading, or you couldn’t finish a story because the writer was so mind-numbingly bad. Even harder, perhaps you read a fantastic book… once. And then it was gone, never called you back, and the world’s been gray ever since. To those people, I want to say, there’s plenty of fish in the sea. Don’t give up, there’s some book for everyone. They want to be enjoyed as much as you want to enjoy one. Maybe you’re just looking in the wrong places. Have you tried online dating (I go to Goodreads.com, myself)?

And for those of you who know all too well the love of a hardbound novel at two in the morning, love on. The world needs more of you. When someone tells me they “don’t like reading” or “don’t read,” I have an emormously difficult time not telling them how cruel they’re being to themselves by keeping themselves in the dark.

As the great masterLemony Snicket once wrote,

“All the secrets of the world are contained in books. Read at your own risk.”

Readers don’t see that as much as a warning as they do a challenge.

Take it away, Barney.

3 Responses to “The One About Readers”

  1. Emily C. February 19, 2013 at 4:09 am #

    Alright, so I couldn’t help myself, after clicking across this entry by chance. So true.
    And just had to add in another quote it’s practically calling out for, that you may or may not have heard! “‘A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies,’ … ‘The man who never reads lives only one'”. 😉 Love it. Even more ‘ironically amusing’ is that the above was said by a fictional character! ;D
    Cheers!

  2. Emory February 19, 2013 at 6:45 am #

    I love that quote! So wondrous, so true, and totally perfect for this post. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Emily C. February 19, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

      Eee… I know! I know! Like I said, utterly typical random-chance internets again, and couldn’t help self with it reminding me of other quote, after enjoying the entry. Said by a Game of Thrones character, no less! ;D (disclaimer haven’t read the books, just happened to hear, seen some of the show, enjoy all that kinda stuff, etc). Part of my brain wants to argue for still being able to ‘live vicariously’ or through empathy, but heh… that’s besides the point of the quote for addicted fans like us…. right? ;D

Leave a Reply

