Fangirl Analysis

18 Feb

A few months ago, the little brother of a friend asked me what “fangirling” was.

Oh dear. So much to explain.

At the time, I was unprepared to properly enlighten him, and I rambled off a half-baked explanation that it involved squealing and bouncing, but today, I’ve come to redeem myself. Ladies and gentlemen, this is my analysis of a fangirl.

“Fangirl” is either a noun (e.g., “That girl crying in the corner must be a fangirl.”) or a verb (e.g., “I’m sorry, Emory can’t come to the phone right now, she’s fangirling about Colin Morgan.”) As a noun, it is a young woman who is unabashedly enthuasiastic about fictional characters and/or their respective actors (especially ones from the United Kingdom), and as a verb, it means to disregard socially acceptable behavior and scream like a banshee, breathe faster/stop breathing, write fanfiction, post on tumblr, sigh loudly, giggle uncontrollably, lose the function to think, and/or jump up and down.

Fangirl lingo includes the following:

  • Ship – to endorse a romantic relationship between two people, usually fictional characters. “I ship Fitz and Gigi so hard!”
  • OTP – stands for “One True Pairing” and is a term used for your favorite ship. “Amy and Rory are my OTP!”
  • Can – seems like a familiar word, but no. It is a word that illustrates how your too-severe fangirling has shut down your brain. “I can’t… I can’t. I can’t even. I have lost the ability to can.”
  • Fanfic – abbreviation for “fanfiction.” A story about fictional characters written by one of its fans.  “Have you read that Sherlock  fanfic, Alone on the Water? I have lost the ability to can.”
  • Squee – a high-pitched scream delivered by a fangirl, and usually provoked by something fictional. “SQUEEEEEEE”

Below is my collage of all you need to understand fangirls and how their minds work. I got everything from Pinterest or youtube comments, and none of it is my own creation (though, admittedly, it looks like it could be). Click to enlarge!
Image

If you got through the entire thing (congratulations!), one thing will stand out: the screaming.

Yes, we do that on occasion. Don’t judge.

When I went to the midnight premiere of The Hobbit, one of the first previews was for Star Trek Into Darkness.  Four other girls and I screamed at the top of  our lungs. And yes, while I feel sorry for the other people in the theater, I would do it all over again if I had the chance. The only time I’ve fangirled harder in a movie theater was at the end of Captain America (midnight premiere again – who sleeps anyway?). The first teaser for The Avengers. My sister and I were holding onto each other so tightly and hitting each other so hard, I’m surprised we didn’t both come out with bruises. THAT is fangirling.

Any questions?

Anyhow, if we’re still holding onto the definitions, “fanboy” means basically the same thing except that it is male and “fanboying” doesn’t sound nearly as catchy as its female counterpart.

If there was any confusion on the matter, I certainly hope this helped. Thus ends my analysis!

Hug a fangirl today.

6 Responses to “Fangirl Analysis”

  1. Kayla Sanchez March 7, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    All right, first of all I’d like to say that you, my friend, are amazing. It’s like all of my favorite things have been put into one place. So, thank you for that! I’m also very glad to know that I wasn’t the only one who hit people when seeing the first teasers for Avengers. The same thing goes for Star Trek.

    That’s all ^_^

    • Emory March 13, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      Hey, thank you so much! No, you were certainly not the only one freaking out. 🙂 It’s nice to know I wasn’t alone as well!

  2. Gracie March 22, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    When I went to see “Les Miserables,” the preview Star Trek preview came on. My dear sister and I were squealing (quietly, mind you, so as not to frighten anyone [this was not a midnight premier(: ]) and hitting each other so hard… *sigh* so happy to know I’m not alone

    • Emory March 22, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

      Fangirls are never alone, Gracie.
      And Good for you, not frightening the other humans! You ought to be proud!

  3. ashleyrachelle99 August 8, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Hello! If any of you could check out my new blog, I’d be very appreciative!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Freak of Fandom - April 25, 2013

    […] for Thor: The Dark World came out this week, so obviously, there have been copious amounts of fangirling going on all over the world. If you already know about this, you’ve probably already watched […]

Leave a Reply

