Home Teached

17 Apr

Hello there, I’m a homeschooler.

Now, let’s get something out of the way – I am not painfully shy. I am not friendless. I am not forbidden to watch movies above a G rating. And I do not think I am better than you.

Boom! In case you haven’t yet figured it out, I would like to maliciously attack a stereotype today. A stereotype that has gotten in the way of several potentially pleasant conversations: homeschoolers are all the same, sad bunch of backward kids. And they are to be pitied.

Let me just clear up that definition real quick.

Expectation vs. realityYes, on occasion, you will find a homeschooler like that quiet, quivering, unsociable one you are now picturing in your head. They are not unheard of, but assuming that we are all like that is like me assuming that all kids that go to a public school are stuck-up Draco Malfoys. It’s just not true. I guess my point is, generalizations are always bad ideas (and no, the irony of that statement was not lost on me). Lest we forget, social ineptitude is not an exclusively home-schooled trait.

My mum has a friend who used to be a school teacher, and she seems to subscribe to the other popular homeschool stereotype that homeschoolers don’t actually learn anything throughout their schooling experience. She cornered me after church the other day and decided to help me unleash my potential by pelting me with fifty billion questions (or so) about what I was going to do once I graduated.

I had the urge to tell her that I didn’t want to get extra education; instead, I wanted to marry a farmer and move to Montana to raise thirty-seven children (and double that amount of livestock) and never take a shower. And probably wear the same denim skirt for the rest of my life!

… I did not say that. (I celebrate my small victories)

I did, however, decide to dodge her in the future.

To help you all to avoid being this person in a conversation, I have some tips for you:

  • Don’t act like homeschoolers are some mysterious breed of animal.
  • Don’t give them a pitying look and whisper, “Do you… like being homeschooled?” This question in itself is not terrible – just don’t ask it as if you are speaking to something that might die any second.
  • Don’t ask if they have any friends. (Really, guys? Really?)
  • Don’t ask “How do you meet people?” Would you ask a public schooler whether they’d ever met someone outside of their school? No, because it’s weird. I call double standard!

Need additional information? This guy says it way better than I do.

Good talk, everyone!

You are now prepared to meet the wild homeschooler.

14 Responses to “Home Teached”

  1. Mockingbird April 17, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    Oh my gosh, girl, that denim skirt for the rest of my life thing is SO funny! You’ve hit the nail on the proverbial head, dear. Homeschoolers represent!!

    • Emory April 17, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

      Hey thanks, Wonderful! And also – extra thanks for saying “proverbial” and making my day awesome. 🙂

    • The Wasp April 25, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

      Might I second my dear mockingbird on the denim skirt thing? Such truth about that highly-believed lie (:

  2. The Voyager April 17, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    You’re homeschooled?

    I can’t even.

    How are we so similar? WHY CAN’T I HAVE FRIENDS LIKE YOU HERE WITH ME?! Seriously. I mean I have homeschooled Christian friends that like some nerdy things, but none of them like ALL the nerdy things, or think all complexly and write about their complex thoughts like you do.

    Anyway. Aside from that little spiel, awesome post. Luckily the “You’re homeschooled? How do you have any friends?” question hasn’t been asked of me at all in the past two years or so.

    • Emory April 17, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      You’re homeschooled too?
      FOR SERIOUS.
      What the WHAT. If it turns out that we are not sisters separated at birth (which I’m inclined to think is correct), then we may well be the same person.
      And I think I owe you like two or three root beer floats now.
      God bless you, my friend.

      • The Voyager April 18, 2013 at 4:36 am #

        YES I’M HOMESCHOOLED TOO.

        I think we’re the same person. Oh my gosh I just can’t anymore.

        God bless you, as well.

        (Oh also your username just happens to be the name of the university I want to attend so there’s that too.)

      • Sadie May 25, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

        I am homeschooled also! I love it, I think it’s awesome! Many of my public and private schooled friends wish they were homeschooled too. And you know what? I am even ahead because of it, I probably wouldn’t be if I went to school.

      • Emory May 25, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

        Hey, same here!
        Homeschooling is pretty darn awesome! 🙂

  3. Jean April 17, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

    Just because of this post (well it’s the first time I’ve even seen your blog) I may follow you…if that isn’t creepy enough. I think you represented home schooling SO perfectly, And I feel the same way especially after coming to college, it’s such a foreign thing to people. I feel like when you meet another home schooler you have an automatic connection.

    • Emory April 17, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

      Hahaha! Follow me to your heart’s content! Thank you so much for your feedback! And I absolutely know what you mean with the homeschool connection. It just suddenly feels like you’re in a club or something.

  4. Merrilee G Lewis April 17, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    I can tell you were taught well!!

    • Emory April 17, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      Wasn’t I though? 🙂 Love you!

  5. The Wasp April 25, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    My dear, thank you for representing us homeschoolers so darn well. You win.

Leave a Reply

