How Nature Kicked Me in the Shins

21 Apr

Welcome, friends, family, and fangirls. It’s storytime.

I recently returned from a trip to my grandparents’ home in Idaho, where I saw a rainbow. But not just any rainbow – a double rainbow. Double rainbow all the way across the sky. It was the most vivid, magical rainbow I’d ever witnessed.

And it was wonderful.

Now, being a product of the Instagram-ALL -the-things! generation, my first reflex was obvious. I had to immortalize this moment.  This, however, required my getting out my iPod, and when I took it out of my purse, I remembered – Doctor Who was on tomorrow (my iPod may or may not have a Doctor Who background).

What if I didn’t have wifi at my grandparents’ house?

What if I couldn’t see the new episode?

What if my sister saw it before I did?

NOT ON MY WATCH.

I dropped the rainbow and obtained my sought-after internet connection. And when I looked back up, ready to take a picture, the rainbow had faded into a pathetic white stripe, getting darker by the second.

Huh.

If you missed the moral of this story, congratulations, you’re just as guilty as I am.

I could just imagine God glancing down and muttering, “Enjoy that wifi, Loser,” as the rainbow disappeared, and then turning around and watching Sherlock Season Three, just because He could, to spite me. (Okay, I rather doubt my loving God would call me a loser, but let’s be honest – I was loserly, and no one would blame Him.)

Has this happened to you, or something like this? Really feels like getting kicked in the shins by a jealous mother nature. I would love to blame wifi, Doctor Who, or even my iPod for having a distractingly beautiful home screen, but it doesn’t really feel right. We all know who is really to blame.

I mean, come on, Rainbow, you couldn’t stick around for more than seventeen seconds? Would it have been so hard? Buck up, princess, we all know you haven’t got better things to do!

Hm, nope, that’s not it. I think someone else may have been at fault in this situation. *cough*

All this to say, ladies and gentlemen, please, oh, please don’t make my mistakes.

Don’t miss the beauty in every day because you’re so caught up in the everyday.

8 Responses to “How Nature Kicked Me in the Shins”

  1. Merrilee G Lewis April 22, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Love!

  2. Cassie April 22, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    Just some more of the usual genius 😉 Thanks for my smile!

    • Emory April 22, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

      Hey, thank you, and you’re welcome anytime, Cupcake! I miss you! Also I need to give you a really long hug, so I hope that’s cool with you.

  3. Emily C. April 22, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

    Awesome post, again. :-)) (that’s a double grin)

    • Emily C. April 22, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

      Gah…. or it would have been, if not for the automatically-turn-into-a-smiley-graphic thing….. ;PP Sigh… and something I’ve often done myself, too….. nice story!

      • Emory April 22, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

        Ahahaha! No, I can imagine it… And it is beautiful. Thank you so much, Wonderful! You can have one too. :))

  4. The Wasp April 25, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    Thank you for that reminder, my dear (: What a bright spot in my week!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. And Many More | Freak of Fandom - February 6, 2014

    […] events – my DC trip, the chronicles of my first bow hunt and first real job, and that time I totally dissed a rainbow for wifi (still kind of annoyed with myself about […]

Leave a Reply

