A Very Whovian Post

17 May

I have quite the Saturday planned.

My schedule for Saturday

  • wake up with a strange sense of foreboding
  • proceed with daily rituals anxiously
  • avoid internet for fear of spoilers
  • give in and use the internet in small doses
  • see a spoiler and get angry at myself
  • see The Name of the Doctor
  • mourn
  • see Star Trek: Into Darkness
  • lose the ability to form a cohesive sentence

For those of you who are unaware, the Doctor Who season finale, entitled The Name of the Doctor, is this Saturday. If you’ve had any contact whatsoever with people who enjoy Doctor Who (that includes reading this far into this post), you probably have an inkling that, for us, a season ending feels quite a bit like [insert supremely terrifying, if melodramatic, metaphor here]. If you see a Whovian today, comfort them to the best of your ability. Prepare to give out a lot of hugs, for there are a lot of us.

A lot.

Isn’t the power of story-telling beautiful? The way a writer can access your emotions and touch the real parts of your life? It’s easy to simplify a story by saying it’s just a story. Just a made-up tale about made-up people going on made-up adventures. But everyone who’s ever enjoyed a story knows that you cannot water down the definition that far without sacrificing the important fact that stories matter. You can reach people from all walks of life with a story. And those people from all those different walks, they will be able to bond over that story, when they might not have otherwise.

Because of stories, hundreds of thousands of people can love the same thing and be driven to each other as a result of that love. And Doctor Who in particular, well, we all know its influence through space and time is a broad one, nearly fifty years in the making.

So good on you, makers of Doctor Who.

I dread look forward to the season finale.

It is said that in this coming episode we will not only find out who Clara Oswald really is, but also what the Doctor’s name is. Obviously, this has led to some very entertaining speculations. Can’t think of any yourself? Here are my favorites from tumblr.

The Doctor’s Name

  • The 
  • John Smith
  • Sweetie
  • Slim Shady
  • Valentinez Alkalinella Xifax Sicidabohertz Gombigobilla Blue Stradivari Talentrent Pierre Andri Charton-Haymoss Ivanovici Baldeus George Doitzel Kaiser III
  • Kenneth

I’m banking on number 3, myself.

That’s all for now, folks.

Go hug a Whovian.

18 Responses to “A Very Whovian Post”

  1. AshleyRose May 17, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    Love this! Stories DO matter! You’ve pretty much outlined my day as well. Though I saw Star Trek last night. So many feels. It’s going to be an overwhelming weekend for the fandoms.

    • Emory May 17, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

      Isn’t it though? I’m going to need some therapy after all this blows over.

  2. Kristy Daum May 17, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    Totally agree, definately Hug A Whovian Day tomorrow…needs to be a hashtag

    • Emory May 17, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

      Ohmygosh. Yes. Hug a Whovian Day. You win, Kristy. 🙂

  3. Kayla Sanchez May 17, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    I’ve just started series 4, so I won’t be watching the finale when it airs. Accept some tea and a hug for my elder Whovian!

    • Emory May 17, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

      Oh, thank you for the hug! I gladly return it! Enjoy season four! When you get to the season seven finale, I’ll be here ready to give you more hugs. 🙂

  4. Regina May 17, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    I don’t think I want The Doctor’s name revealed!!!! I just think that’s a big part of the show. It was awesome when Ten was asked for “name, rank, and reason for visit” and answered “Doctor, The Doctor, Fun” — I hope that the episode ends just as his name is going to be revealed, but it is not revealed after all. I’m hoping this is just hype.

    • Emory May 17, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

      I absolutely agree. That’s way too much mystery to reveal, isn’t it? Hopefully, I can count on Moffat to do something ridiculous and and avoid actually revealing the name to us.
      And that Ten moment was FABulous. 🙂

  5. Mockingbird May 18, 2013 at 8:16 am #

    I hate to say this, but do you really think they’ll tell us anything of use? I’m inclined to think they will, but I really am not so sure…Would they so easily reveal a thousand-year-old secret??

    • Emory May 18, 2013 at 8:33 am #

      I don’t think they will.
      That would be waaaaaay too easy. And if they did I would be a little bit annoyed. 🙂
      I just want there to be a lot of whispers we can’t hear and smug smiles.

  6. Emily C. May 18, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Oh… my…… Gahh, yes…. o.o Heh, sorry with the friendly stranger comment babbling again, but -so- hear you there. Great comments about (again)! 😀 I’m in the same dread/eager thing, too. I don’t want to ruin the mystery! Plus, I have the disadvantage of no cable, so must catch my friend’s recording sometime this week. And also try to catch Iron Man, having had no good day for it yet. THEN Star Trek…. I swear I’ll be in a quivering geek coma by the end…. ;P ;D
    (also…. Free Hugs!) 🙂

    • Emory May 18, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      OHMYGOSH.
      I just saw it. And I won’t spoil it for you, but I must say… You will enjoy it. (Probably.) I have not gotten over how mind-blowingly fabulous it was. Ohman.
      And that one part.
      OHGOSH that one part. Just see it. Excuse me while I wait impatiently for November.

      • Emily C. May 19, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

        lol. 🙂 Well, that’s good to hear, anyway! ;D Sometimes I get a little hopefully apprehensive with Moffat’s teasing and such talk he’s known for like ‘we’re going to change everything as you know it!!!’ You know what I mean?
        And I’ve loved some of the shift with it so far, and some of their trips, but sometimes seems like they’re a bit ‘stuck’ in creativity.
        I so very rarely bother to go see something in the theater, though, so part of me is also ‘eeeeee!’ at also seeing, so closely together in one period of geeky blockbusters and mind-breaking finales of every show on, along with seeing Mr. Stark and Mr. Cumberbatch on the huge screen….. o.o ;DD Somebody give me a shock blanket…. please….. 😉

      • Emory May 20, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

        I understand.
        *throws shock blanket over Emily’s shoulders*
        Better? 🙂

      • Emily C. May 21, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

        Awww, you’re sweet!! ;D 🙂 Gah… I -will- catch up. I Will!!
        *twitches with impatienthopefulexcitement in shock blanket* ;P Eeee…. finally saw Iron Man today though!!!! 🙂 🙂 Tony! Tony! Tony! (and yes, the Doctor soon, too!)

  7. Merrilee G Lewis May 22, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Love

  8. Wasp June 5, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    I approve of your name choice (: Good one to bank on, I would think

    • Emory June 5, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

      I thought it was! Apparently I was wrong! Talk about disappointing…

Leave a Reply

