Real Life

27 May

Last Saturday evening, I watched seventeen homeschool kids graduate from high school.

For me, it was mainly a two hour long reminder that next year, it’s my turn.

And then I have to start thinking about real life.

Be right back, I have to stress-eat myself into a stupor.

I was just talking to Invisible Woman about this, as she is graduating in my year. As we stood in a room crowded with people congratulating our friend who starts college soon, Invisible Woman said, “It seems like, as I get older, the graduates keep getting younger.” Right? I thought it would take forever to get to graduating age. Spoiler alert: It took a lot less time than that.

So let’s get serious. I suppose it’s time now. It’s time to start planning my life.

Whoa, slow down. Not that serious. I’m thinking as far ahead as graduation ceremony speech. Let’s not get carried away, here.

One thing is known about my speech so far (besides the pre-requisite thanking of my enormously spectacular parents and Creator). It must be one of the nerdiest things I’ve ever written. I want it to be subtle enough that non-fangirls and boys will just think that the speech is riddled with oddly-put cliches, but to those in the know – every word a reference.Β There should be Doctor Who and Lemony Snicket and Disney and Sherlock and F. Scott Fitzgerald and Dr. Horrible and Fawlty Towers and Star Wars. There needs to be random selections spoken in a British accent and others to be pronounced as if I were Will Ferrell. And if I can blackmail one of my friends into completing a quote for me from the audience, I most definitely will.

I want to warn you all. I just might try the speech out on you to see how it goes over.

Graduation day is your last hurrah to your school days before something like real life begins (which I am, in fact, going to try to start planning), is it not? So what is the point in its being superfluously “adult”?

The day may come when I must act like a grown-up, but it is not that day!

That day we fight graduate!

29 Responses to “Real Life”

  1. kireliron May 27, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    You would not even have to blackmail me. I volunteer. And bt-dubs, you would have the most fantastic speech. EVER.

    • Emory May 27, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

      Aw, you so good to me, Sweetheart! πŸ™‚ It would be beyond fantastic if you could be there and do that!

      • kireliron June 5, 2013 at 8:11 am #

        Your wish is my command! Consider it done!

  2. Mockingbird May 27, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    I volunteer as well! I cannot wait for you speech; it will surely be ten times better than anyone else’s EVER.

    • Emory May 27, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

      Hahaha! Thank you for the volunteer, Mockingbird! It will be interesting if nothing else!

  3. The Voyager May 27, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    Nope. Nope. This is not okay. I swear it’s not.

    YOU HAVE ALREADY STARTED THINKING ABOUT A GRADUATION SPEECH AND I ALSO HAVE ALREADY STARTED THINKING ABOUT A GRADUATION SPEECH.

    What is this new devilry?!

    Also growing up scares me too.

    • The Voyager May 27, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      Also also, my ideal graduation speech starts out like an old Vlogbrothers video: “Everyone, this speech comes to you in three parts.” I would shoot for seven parts (like Voldemort’s soul), but that would be very difficult to do in a graduation speech.

      • Emory May 27, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

        AAAH that’s an amazing idea! Good for you! πŸ˜€
        You’re already thinking of your grad speech? So continues the adventures of the Same. Freaking. Person. And/or sisters switched at birth.
        What the what, lady.

      • The Voyager May 27, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

        I don’t even know, okay? There’s some seriously weird universe goings-on up in here.

      • Mockingbird May 27, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

        From a Nerdfighter/Potterhead stance, I completely approve of this. I salute thee!

      • The Voyager May 27, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

        *bows* Thank you, kind sir/madam. Thank you.

      • Emory May 27, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

        Seeing you lovely ladies communicate is giving me unspeakable joy.

      • The Voyager May 27, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

        Glad to be of service, ma’am. *bows again*

      • Mockingbird May 27, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

        *bows as well* I try to bring joy to the universe…

      • Mockingbird May 27, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

        You are quite welcome, sir/madam. Anything to support my fellow nerds!

  4. Kayla Sanchez May 27, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    Can we get a transcript of your speech once it’s done? By the way, no blackmail needed here!

    • Emory May 27, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      Absolutely! And thanks for the willingness, darling! πŸ™‚

  5. Merrilee G Lewis May 27, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    Can’t wait!!!!!

    • Emory May 27, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

      Should be interesting!

  6. Rachel May 27, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    One of my friends have a graduation speech and actually quoted Doctor Who. I was so proud!!

    • Emory May 27, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

      Awww, good on you both! πŸ˜€

  7. Invisable Woman May 27, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    I VOLUNTEER!!!
    Also u rock.
    Also, u should probably have some form of a c.s. lewis quote. Because he’s so fabulou, that’s why! And to prove that we have had some semblance of a normal education.

    • Emory May 27, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

      Ooooh, you are so right! Thank you, cupcake! And thank you for being so eager to volunteer! I’m surrounded with such cool people. πŸ™‚

  8. Gemma May 28, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    Hey there love! Just letting you know that I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award and the Sunshine Award! πŸ™‚ The rules are: Mention the blog/s that nominated you, nominate some blogs of your own choice, answer a series of questions about yourself, and if you feel like it also post 7 random facts about yourself! You can see the details here: http://therantommenace.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/happy-blogiversary-remain-insane/

    • Emory May 29, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      Ohmygoodness, thank you ever so much, sweetheart! I’ll write that post soon!
      Do I answer the same questions you answered, or just spew out my favorite random facts about myself?
      Thank you again! πŸ™‚

      • Gemma May 30, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

        You are most welcome my dear ^_^ It’s really up to you, with one of them you answer the questions, and with the other you had to say 7 random facts about yourself, I just chose the questions hehe πŸ˜›

  9. Wasp June 4, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Look at you! Getting all growed up and writing your graduation speech and all that (:

    I fully offer myself to the completion of this quote. No blackmail necessary. You, my dear, are a unicorn of amazing! (sorry I had to alter that reference… it would not have worked in all it’s normalcy in this instance)

    Best regards and good luck getting older! You’ll be a great help in offering me some pointers, I’m sure (:

    • Emory June 4, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      Thank you for the offer! I think I will definitely take you up on that! πŸ˜€
      And even more thank you for your well wishing. And actually, maybe you could share pointers with me too, because there’s no way I will ever have it all figured out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Real Life? | Freak of Fandom - May 19, 2014

    […] (Click here for this post’s year-old predecessor) […]

Leave a Reply

