Knockaround Update

3 Jun

I have a lot of unrelated things to say today that I can’t organize into a normal posty-post.

So let’s get this show on the road!

        Uno: I have been nominated for the Versatile Blogger award by Gemma (author of Remain Insane) and nominated for the Sunshine award by Kayla (author of The Thousand Lives)!

Thank you, my dears! And the rest of you – check those girls out. They are winners and their blogs are fabulous.

Now to re-assign the awards! I’m not sure how many awards I can give to one blogger at a time, so I’ll just give one to each for now.

I pass on the Versatile Blogger award to the Voyager for her blog The Ultimate Voyage. This clever young lady has run an exceedingly magnificent blog for over a year now, and you really ought to treat yourself to her nerdy, thoughtful, theological goodness. My favorite of her posts is Cumulus Boni Et Mali.

Also, I would like to throw a VB award to Kayla of The Thousand Lives! If you have a fully functioning memory span, you’ll remember her from four paragraphs ago. She mainly writes about writing (very well, too), and my favorite post of hers is Write to Learn. 

I present the Sunshine award to Kirelion for her blog For the Win. She is a fairly new blogger, but her posts are still full of incessant loveliness and fangirling, especially my favorite of hers, The Great McGregor. I know this girl in the real world, and I can say confidently that you would love her.

Also a Sunshine award to Rika, the Awkward Geeky Girl. That blog name tells you everything you need to know! My favorite post of hers is The Shy Girl at a Party.

And now, according to the rules of accepting these awards, I have to answer the following questions about myself.

Favorite color: TARDIS blue. Otherwise known to normal people as royal blue.

Favorite animal: Turtle.

Favorite number: 30367.

Favorite non-alcoholic drink: Guava juice. I only ever drank it in Hawaii, but the day I forget the taste of that heavenly elixir is the day people stop using the phrase “when pigs fly.”

Favorite alcoholic drink: I’ll let you know when I find out.

Facebook or Twitter: Facebook has endowed me with the unwanted and despised knowledge that most people don’t know the finer points of grammar or spelling, but Twitter is a such a communicational downgrade (140 characters? For reals?) that I would have to say Facebook.

My passions: Stories and storytelling. You should not be surprised by this.

Giving or receiving gifts: Bit of a toss-up (who doesn’t like receiving gifts?), but if I must pick one, it would probably be giving. I’m a fan of bribing people for affection.

Favorite city: Bend, Oregon. Because, to quote Allie Brosh, the author of Hyperbole and a Half,

” … it is quite possibly the best place on earth and just breathing the air here is like huffing joy and celebration.”

Favorite TV shows: Come on guys, you know this. Doctor Who, Sherlock, Psych, White Collar, Phineas and Ferb (don’t judge), and Gravity Falls (please don’t judge).

Let’s move along now.

       Two: Remember when it was announced that Matt Smith had signed on to do season eight of Doctor Who? Well, due to the fact that we live in a fallen, broken world, this is no longer applicable. My Doctor is regenerating this Christmas.

No, no, no, just kidding. My actual reaction is

And I need a hug.

       Trois: I recently returned from a three-day trip to my state capitol with six high-school strangers who were, though wonderful people, not geeky at all. It was hard. I saw angel figurines and I blinked. I saw cracks in the wall and I didn’t point out our likely demise. I discussed investigation techniques and didn’t quote Sherlock. I hiked through a forest and didn’t reference Lost. My driver had a stetson and I whispered, “Stetsons are cool.”

No one heard me.

       And forty-three: Two kids were picked from that predominantly non-nerdy group to go to Washington DC, and I was blessed to be one of them! Something good came out of my pain after all. Lord willing, at the end of this month, I, along with the other winner, will be in the nation’s capitol, giving speeches in front of representatives, touring museums, debating with strangers, and continuing to choke back my well-placed fandom references.

Should be interesting.

That’s all for now, folks. We’ll be back to our regularly scheduled program soon.

Don’t forget to be awesome!

18 Responses to “Knockaround Update”

  1. Kayla Sanchez June 3, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    Thanks for the nomination! If I remember correctly, Matt will be in the first episode of Season 8? So technically I guess he is signed for it… That still doesn’t help.

    Aren’t non-nerdy friends hard?? I tried to get one of my friends to watch Sherlock, and after the first episode she said, “Yeah it was good.” Good… Needless to say, she has been banished.

    • Emory June 3, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

      Oh thank goodness! Thank you for letting me know about that! My Doctor just can’t die on Christmas! Phew.
      And yes, they are hard now! It was all so simple before I got nerdy. But it is good to keep it switched up, I guess, so I don’t forget how normal people work.
      Sherlock was… good? Just good?
      No. Sherlock is great. (And one day, if we’re very lucky, he may even be good) 🙂

      • Kayla Sanchez June 3, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

        I’m just going to lay down and die now because that was the most beautiful way I’ve seen that quote used.

      • Emory June 3, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

        Let’s be friends.

      • Kayla Sanchez June 3, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

        Please!

      • Emily C. June 4, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

        Seriously, where is the ‘like’ button!! ;P 🙂

  2. The Wasp June 3, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    First: WAHHH!!!!! D’8 I will never find someone like you, Matt. Ever. They’d better find someone incredible. INCREDIBLE. to take his place.

    Next: Props to you for holding it in, my dear. I commend you. And if I had been there… you know I would have heard you. And congrats for being accepted!!! A job very well done!

    Last: Thanks for reminding me to be awesome. I often forget, you know (; Need I remind you as well? After reading this blog… I think not (:

    • Emory June 3, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

      First: I KNOWWW
      Second: Aw gee, thanks, Wasp! You’re so sweet to me!
      Three: Hahaha, anytime, gorgeous! Yes, actually, I need reminders quite a bit. 🙂

  3. Invisable Woman June 3, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

    Do you hear that? That is the sound of a million hearts, quietly breaking, in the silence. The bowtie! Oh what will become of our bowtie!?

    Also… congratulations. You deserve it 😉
    I have come up with a completely foolproof plan for your next expediton into the real world: take me with you!

    • Emory June 4, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      The bowtie! I broke my own the heart the other day imagining a scene where Twelve takes off the bowtie.
      Ouch.
      And why thank you, my dear! Why don’t you fold yourself up into my suitcase? And put a toothbrush in your mouth! (because there’s obviously no way there will be room anywhere else for a toothbrush)

  4. geekygirl91 June 5, 2013 at 4:23 am #

    Er,I don’t know if my previous comment can be entirely seen (seems that it was cut off after the first sentence). However,I was just thanking you again for the nomination and asking you what to do to accept the award! :3

    Aaand I really understand how it feels like hanging with non-geeky friends xD You can never make quotes or references gah >_<

    P.S.: delete this comment if the previous one can be read 😀 thanks

    • Emory June 5, 2013 at 7:59 am #

      Hehe, don’t worry, the other one is gone now!
      To accept the award, I was informed you have to answer the questions I answered and nominate someone else. (originally it said nominate fifteen people… I didn’t do that. Just nominate whomever you and how many you please) And you can save the Sunshine award image and put it in your sidebar or post it or something. 🙂
      Have a day full of loveliness!

  5. kireliron June 5, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    Oh my goodness! Thank you so much! What an honor! I wish you could see the huge grin on my face right now! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    • Emory June 5, 2013 at 8:01 am #

      Aww, anytime, my love! 😀

  6. The Voyager July 5, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    I like your posty-post ref.

    Whoaaaa. You’re all smart and debatey and political. I have a love/hate relationship with debate. I like debating. I just hate preparing for it. Lazy, right here. Back to you: I commend you for your intelligence and all that, and also for your ability to be around such non-nerdy people for so long without being able to crack jokes.

    • The Voyager July 5, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

      Oh, yes, and thank you for the nomination, dearie!!! “Magnificent.” Gah. At any rate, it’s not of my doing, at all.

      • Emory July 6, 2013 at 10:30 am #

        Posty-post.
        It just wants to be a thing so bad. 🙂 Welcome back!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ecstatic | Freak of Fandom - July 3, 2013

    […] I said in a post from a couple weeks ago, I was selected, along with 46 other kids, to go to Washington DC to learn more about […]

Leave a Reply

