Control

10 Jun

I’ve read (and seen, regrettably) enough Green Lantern to be fairly certain that the force of will power is strong. However, when facing down a tray of cupcakes after you’ve already had three, will power seems like the most foreign concept since first learning that vampire/human romance is a thing.

Will power and self-control get no attention. The motto of the 21st century as I’ve seen it is “Do what feels good (See also: YOLO),” and while following that advice will lead to good feelings for a period of time, chances are that in the not-so-distant future, you will feel significantly less good about consuming that fourth cupcake.

{I know this.}

For example, I’m trying to learn French right now, but unfortunately, this process requires a little bit more than just the mental capacity to remember that certain words are meant to be feminine and others masculine (Come on, France. They’re just words; there’s no need to assign them genders.). It takes me making the conscious decision to spend a few minutes on French instead of doing any number of the things that I’d rather be doing.

Which is far harder for me than it should be.

So, to be honest? This post is for me, because I need some help with this: not just with French, but with everything else that requires commitment. You can come along too, if you like.

Dear Emory,

Self-control is a God-given fruit of the spirit. that should be good enough for you. Everyone knows that a virtue doesn’t get to that status unless it’s pretty darn wonderful. When you see someone exhibiting self-control, you admire them. They do great things.

Without self-control, self-discipline, and the green force of will power, Madeleine L’engle may have given up after twenty-six publishing attempts, and I would have never read Wrinkle in Time. Walt Disney would not have created his iconic characters, stories, and movies, nor set the stage for the happiest place on earth. The Doctor would not have gone back for Wilfred. Jimmy Coates would be an eleven-year-old murderer. Jason Bourne would be the government’s puppet. Also dead. Phineas and Ferb would spend all day sitting under a tree, Tiana would never have gotten her restaurant, and Darth Vader would still be serving the Chancellor.

“Yeah, um, only two of those people are real.”

Shut up, Brain. What I’m getting at is that the virtues are real.

Self-control: n. The act of denying yourself, controlling your impulses.

No matter how much society tells you to do “what feels good,” you have to remember that your feelings do not make good decisions. If you don’t have self-control, then what are you letting control you?

Since my customary farewell would appear oddly self-serving, I shall simply say,

Good luck,

Emory

4 Responses to “Control”

  1. Merrilee G Lewis June 10, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    ….and may the force be with you – great post!

    • Emory June 10, 2013 at 9:10 am #

      Hee hee, thank you!

  2. geekygirl91 June 10, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

    Haha I just love it when you make geeky references even in posts like this! 😀
    I’ve always been struggling with will power my whole life I think… I am a lazy person and sometimes this makes me regret so many things I haven’t done because of my laziness >_<
    It's especially true with study: I study chinese and it's sooo hard to stay focused! Good luck with your French!

    • Emory June 10, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

      Aw gee thanks, darling!
      I always struggle with my laziness too, especially when it comes to studying. At least we can struggle together! I’m actually supposed to be studying now, but um, not happening.
      And best of luck to you with Chinese! 🙂 Such a cool language to learn!

Leave a Reply

