A Very Merry Un-Birthday

6 Jul

Today, July 6th, 2013,  marks the half-birthday of my blog.

She is officially six months old now. According to WebMD, my little bundle of text has learned how to communicate, is beginning to fear strangers, and now enjoys the sound of her own voice.

She’s just like her mummy!

Right about now is when I would usually type out the condescending comment that the grown-up part of my brain has to say to the rest of me, but after re-reading that last sentence, I think it’s giving me the silent treatment.

But back to the topic at hand.

Since I refuse to be the only one celebrating today, I would like to inform you that today is not only Freak of Fandom’s half birthday, it is also the birthday of Ned Beatty, the man who voiced the mean magenta teddy bear in Toy Story 3. Today is my un-birthday as well, and quite likely yours too, unless it is your birthday (happy birthday, you!). Today is National Fried Chicken Day. And, oh hey, it’s National Kissing Day.

          

But those are not nearly all the reasons you have to celebrate today. A saying I hear quite a lot is,

“Any day above ground is a good one.”

Now, I understand that this is referring to any day that you are alive, but I feel it is discriminatory against spelunkers and ground squirrels, so I tend to prefer the far more wordy one,

“Any day when your body is performing the necessary involuntary functions to keep you alive, regardless of your physical location, is a good one.”

You haven’t heard it? Well, it’s a thing.

If you’re reading this, I’m going to assume you’re alive. Congratulations! You’re breathing, you have the opportunity to do amazing things, and you are important. If that’s not a reason to celebrate, I don’t know what is.

And if you are, in fact, not alive, then it’s really quite impressive that you’re reading this. You can celebrate too. I won’t judge.

In closing, I would like to thank everyone for putting up with me for six whole months! It’s been fun (for me).

Now go be magnificent.

 

21 Responses to “A Very Merry Un-Birthday”

  1. The Voyager July 6, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    You are the absolute best. I had a smile on my face the entire time I was reading, and even now while I’m typing. The bit about the behaviour of your blog really got me.

    Happy happy happy blog-half-birthday!! You’ve done a wonderful job so far, and I sincerely hope you continue to do so!

    • Emory July 6, 2013 at 11:24 am #

      Thank you so very much, darling! I’m happy it made you smile! And since my blog is reacting to other people now, it probably would have smiled back at you. 🙂

  2. Kayla Sanchez July 6, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    I… I’m alive? I’m a sentient being?? Oh my goodness happy days are here!!! Congratulations on the blog, darling 🙂 I always look forward to your posts!

    • Emory July 6, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

      Thank you sweetheart! I always love yours too! And yes, you are alive. Own it. 😉

  3. Kire July 6, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    You are absolutely brilliant and I will “put up” with you for six more CENTURIES! At the very least.

    • Emory July 6, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

      Aww thank you, dearest! Six centuries? You’re my own personal Rory! You have no idea how much I appreciate that. 😀

      • Kire July 6, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

        Ehe! We just all need a Rory, don’t we?

  4. Wasp July 7, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Thank you and congratulations on your six months… it’s been fun for me too (:

    • Emory July 7, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

      I’m so glad! Have a magical and sunshiney day!

  5. Emily C. July 7, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    And thank -you- for often being a source of thoughtfully fun hilarity for! ;D
    (I love the image of one’s sentient baby-blog. just you wait til it talks back!)

  6. Merrilee G Lewis July 8, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    I plan to be magnificent today – because of you !

    • Emory July 12, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

      You ARE magnificent! Love you!

  7. Emily C. July 12, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    Ok…. I wasn’t sure where else to put this, because it doesn’t really fit in the newest entry, but it made me so delighted I just -have- to share it with any other fan I know:
    http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2013-07-12/martin-freeman-joined-by-benedict-cumberbatch-as-he-waves-goodbye-to-the-hobbit
    Utterly. Melting. ❤ ❤ ;D I love those two…

    • Emory July 12, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

      GAHHH
      SO
      CUTE
      I CAN’T

      • Emily C. July 12, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

        I Know!!!!! Right????? 😀 (and did you hear about the other frustratingly teasing and adorable and utterly typical newsbit about the Sherlock bosses messing with us/loving us fans again? Where they decided to re-run series 2 eps started tonight for the next couple weeks, but only on the UK bbc channel, where they ‘tweaked’ each ep to leave parts of a clue that, when added together, would give us the title of the series 3 finale?) (that hasn’t even been dang //filmed// yet) (after they already teased us with the entire first two titles already) (and the fact that moffat said the cliffhanger would be ‘the worst yet’) (because they love to keep us excit– keep us curiously anticipa– keep us as their desperate minions hanging on every word.) ;PPP

      • Emory July 12, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

        OoooOOOooo! How cool is that! And ugh, They are so rude about cliffhangers.
        But we love them for it anyway.

      • Emily C. July 14, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

        Ha… I know!! Hee.. um… sorry for spamming you… that’s one of the way my geek excitement comes out – I love interactive/behind-the-scenes/tidbits like that (and sharing it with other geeks I think would appreciate). Like when the creators/crew tease on twitter or get excited about stuff with us too. (moffat and vertue and their set director do it all the time!) Or little ‘specials’ they do, like that. Since we’ve already been told the first two eps will be ‘The Empty Hearse’ and ‘The Sign of Three’ (both awesome nods to canon), those meanies decided to do that game for the third during re-runs.
        So far, according to the brits on my forum, the ‘letters’ were given out one at a time in the tv closed captions, and spelled ‘His’. We now await the next two words from the next eps… ;P ;P ;)))

  8. Whovian99 July 14, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    Happy Very Belated Half-Birthday of your blog!! 😀

    • Emory July 14, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

      Why thank you ever so much!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shout Out Saturday! | For The Win - July 13, 2013

    […] with a Hulk-sized bit of hilarious. Her blog has just turned six months old and we had a lovely celebration. So please follow her as well. Maybe comment a silly quote on one of her posts that has nothing to […]

  2. The Super-Sweet Liebster Award | Freak of Fandom - August 20, 2013

    […] have you been blogging, and what made you start blogging? I’ve been blogging for seven months (my little baby’s growing so fast). I started Freak of Fandom because I loved to write, but I needed practice and structure, and I […]

Leave a Reply

