Ain’t No Party Like Comic-Con

22 Jul

A little while back, I was mindlessly scrolling through tumblr, when I stumbled upon a strange image.

It was a young man with a bar stool on his head. In one hand, he held a whisk, and in the other, a plunger.

The caption read “My cosplay.”

You know how he looks to normal people?

Crazy.

This dude looks stark raving mad.

But to those of us in the know – well, he still looks stark raving mad, but we know he’s dressing up as the Doctor’s most hated enemy, the Dalek. (Daleks have no concept of elegance)

Now picture this type of person, fully insane and loving it, and multiply it by (give or take) 130,000. Just for kicks, give them all money to burn and take away any semblance of will power they thought they had. Got it? Good. Now put all of them in the same convention center in a little town called San Diego. Hello, Comic-Con.

The 2013 San Diego Comic-Con ended last Sunday after four days of fangirls and fanboys cosplaying, trailer-watching, panel-visiting, line-standing, and a gloriously unhealthy amount of screaming. I did not attend, but I was as present as I could be without utilizing money and gas to be “there” in the physical sense. From my remote location, I learned a few things about this year’s SDCC.

  • At the X-Men: Days of Future Past panel, attendees asked all the right questions: “With the expanding Marvel universe… Is Deadpool possible?”
  • … And got all the wrong answers: “Anything’s possible.

So… no? Just say no. Stop allowing my hopes to exist.

There would have been a Catching Fire trailer breakdown post, but there’s already been one trailer released, and as my breakdown dialogue would have been made up of all-caps declarations of love for this film and its characters, it would have gotten real weird real fast. And my posts are never weird.

  • The Doctor Who 50th Anniversary trailer was shown exclusively to the comic-con audience.
  • Said trailer was then denied internet release for a few weeks. Or months. 

Remember, these are the same people who still haven’t given you season three of Sherlock.

  • Season four of Sherlock was confirmed. 

Cool, guys. I’ll just pencil that in for 2021.

  • Loki of Asgard gate-crashed the Thor: The Dark World panel and raised his army from a seemingly innocent crowd of by-standers.

And every Hiddlestoner there died instantaneously. I’m only kind of exaggerating. Watch the way-too-easy take-over here.

  • The title of Avengers 2 was made public. The year 2015 will see the release of The Avengers: Age of Ultron.

I know what you’re thinking. And by that, I mean, “I know what I was thinking.”

“Yes! Finally, an intro for Henry Pym (Ant-Man/Giant Man/Goliath/Yellowjacket/The dude who created Ultron) and Janet Van Dyne (Wasp), who, by the way, should have shown up a while ago, but who cares? No one can leave them out of the story now!”

  • Joss Whedon confirmed that Henry Pym would not be part of Ultron’s origin story.

Not cool.

These are just a few highlights from the biggest nerd party in the country. I didn’t attend, and maybe you didn’t either. That’s fine! It’s nothing to be ashamed of, and hey, you can get most of the details on the internet anyway.

We didn’t make it this time. That’s okay.

But let’s not make it a habit.

See you next year, fanpeople.

11 Responses to “Ain’t No Party Like Comic-Con”

  1. Kayla Sanchez July 22, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

    I, for one, would love to read a play by play of your reaction to the Catching Fire trailer. Then we could fangirl together!

    Series four of Sherlock… Oh dear. I really hope my love for Benedict Cumberbatch can break through the dementia I’ll inevitably have by the time those episodes air.

    • Emory July 22, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

      Haha! My older sister sent me the link to the new trailer and I responded with a whole page of badly-punctuated statements about Peeta’s adorableness and Finnick’s outfit and how much I wanted to give everyone in the movie a hug. Aw man, SO GOOD
      And can I just say? I am weirdly excited for crazy man-eating monkeys (You read the book, yeah?).
      Also, when Sherlock season four comes out, I say we get together and watch it while we babysit the grandkids.

      • Kayla Sanchez July 22, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

        I forced my mom to pause the tv while I played the trailer… and then screamed for a good five minutes while she looked at me like I needed a padded room and a straight jacket. It looks so well done – even better than the first movie!

        I read the book (have it on Kindle, and trying to scrounge up the cash to get a paperback), loved all the different sections of the clock! I’m actually looking forward to the jabberjays, but the monkeys will be great too! I hadn’t imagined Finnick’s outfit that way, at all. In fact I actually feel a bit like a pervert because in my head he had a lot less skin covered…

        Yes, we shall indoctrinate the youth with Sherlock!

      • Emory July 22, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

        You’re definitely not a pervert. I pictured him stark naked except for a conveniently-placed knot of thick fishing net. Isn’t that how Collins described it?
        … I hope so.
        Because I don’t want to think that I imagined that by myself.

      • Kayla Sanchez July 22, 2013 at 9:20 pm #

        We’re on the exact same page. You have no idea how happy I am to know that it wasn’t just me!

  2. The Voyager July 22, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    ajldkasjglandfk You don’t even know how much I missed (actually, you probably do) being at Comic-Con this year. That whole Tom Hiddleston thing. WHAT. WHAT EVEN. That is seriously one of THE best things I’ve ever seen ever in my entire seventeen-and-a-half years. And a SHERLOCK PANEL. AND MATT SMITH IN A BART SIMPSON MASK. AND EVERYTHING. AND EVERYONE.

    Oh well. I’m already making plans to go next year. It shall be my graduation present to myself. *cough*youshoulddefinitelygonextyeartoo*cough*

    • Emory July 22, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

      DO YOU REALIZE HOW UNSPEAKABLY FABULOUS IT WOULD BE IF WE BOTH WENT NEXT YEAR
      Ohmygosh.
      And this year’s SDCC was just AUGH so good. I would have lost my mind if I had been present when Tom Hiddleston swaggered into the room.
      And I am massively annoyed that there are people who have seen the 50th DW anniversary trailer and they are NOT ME.

      • The Voyager July 22, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

        YES YES I DO PLEASE MAKE THIS HAPPEN

        Swaggered? More like MAGICALLY APPEARED AS A BEAUTIFUL BEACON OF PERFECTION.

        I’m really not okay with that at all like really. I love it just as much as all of them. I just have a lack of funds. I DESERVE TO SEE THAT PREVIEW TOO.

  3. whovian99 July 22, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    GAH! Why couldn’t I go!?! And did you see what Moffat said about what would happen if someone leaked the 50th trailer? That is so unfair that only a handful get to see it! But I shall be patient (or die trying) and wait. 😛
    OMG, Tom–LOKI crashing the stage made my entire week!!! ❤ ❤ He was amazing! It looked like he enjoyed doing that way too much. xD You could see him basking in the screaming. Haha xDD

    • Emory July 22, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      Ohhhhman, you really could see him basking in it. 😀
      “Say my name.”
      How did he DO THAT THING AAAHH
      Anyway. Oh, and Moffat’s threat! That’s serious stuff! How dare he not just SHOW it to us already?

      • whovian99 July 26, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

        IT’S SO UNFAIR!!! THE TROLL!!! ARGG UGH!! I swear, one day, us fangirls should just get together, bust down his front door, and make him PAY!!

        AHHHHH, I would died had I have been at Comic-con. “Say my name”. Yup. My last (screaming) words would have been ‘Loki’.

Leave a comment