Career Mapping for the Fictionally Inclined Part 2

25 Jul

In Part 1 of Career Mapping for the Fictionally Inclined, I discussed how important it is to begin thinking about what you will do with your life one day. The fictional world is full of career opportunities, and in the interest of deciding which one is best for us, I have extended the job search.

Let’s begin.

Disney Princess.

Upside: Do I have to explain the upsides of being a Disney princess? I can talk to animals, have spectacular hair, my wardrobe is superb, I can sing in public and not get weird looks, and handsome prince is often involved at some point.

Downside: My father apparently has terrible judgment when it comes to spouses. I, for one, would like to know how he went from marrying my mother, who was allegedly a perfect angel, to marrying an evil sorceress who murdered him shortly after the wedding. Come on, Dad. I’m sure there were signs. And if step-mothers are not an issue in my story, then there’s always some conflict, whether it be my social standing, my prince thinking I’m a dude, or how trapped in a tower I am.

Psychic Detective

Upside: So. many. snacks. Additionally, I am expected to do the finger-waving to make my psychic powers more convincing, and I can’t tell you how happy I would be to get paid for doing that. My job description? To catch killers, have adventures, flirt with clients, and work with my best friend. You know that’s right.

Downside: I literally lie for a living. This could get old after a while. I would be a considerable target for serial killers, and, if I’m being totally honest with myself, I would gain thirty pounds in the first week if I were allowed to have so many snack breaks.

X-Man

Upside: Mutant powers and world-saving – nuff said.

Downside: X-Men probably catch more drama than any other super-powered individual in the Marvel multiverse. Not only does every non-mutant person hate my guts, but somehow, by the end of the school year at Xavier’s, every student has about three ex-significant others. Not to mention, the chances of being driven insane and altering reality or destroying a planet are frighteningly high.

Maze Runner

Upside: Most prestigious position in the community. A Maze Runner gets exercise, respect, and the knowledge that he may one day solve the maze, free the Gladers, and maybe get some answers.

Downside: That “knowledge” I mentioned above is a bit closer to wishful thinking than a state of knowing. And I’d have to watch out for Grievers, the most terrifyingly confusing creature known to YA literature. Not cool. It’s also worth mentioning that if I run for longer than seventy-four seconds, my own body starts trying to murder me.

Gamemaker

Upside: Fabulous dress code. I could smother myself in gold powder, and not one person could question me. I could stick stickers on my face and not one person would question me. I could stitch an outfit together out of teddy bears and hand grenades and no one would question me.

Downside: The whole sending-23-kids-off-to-certain-death thing is a bit of an issue for me.

Doctor

       Wait, a doctor or the Doctor?

The Doctor.

       Of course.

Upside: Traveling through all of time and space, making friends, and saving galaxies – I could get used to this. The company vehicle has its own personality, and knows where I should go before even I do. I have no living co-workers, so no one can cramp my style. My style, by the way, would love to include wearing a vegetable or a fez.

Downside: Time is in flux, I know, but I’m sure I would still find a way to totally mess it up. I’m not a tidy crier, and I’m pretty sure I have to cry at least once a day in this occupation. The pressure of saving the universe is an intense one, and I for one would not like to see the universe under my protection. Did I mention that I have no living co-workers? Yes? Well, did I mention that that’s because I killed them?

Once again, I believe there are more fictional occupations that I missed, so feel free to give me some more ideas! And remember, when deciding which career path is best for you, be sure to factor in whether you have the right temperament, goals, and/or species to properly complement the job.

Happy hunting!

29 Responses to “Career Mapping for the Fictionally Inclined Part 2”

  1. Mockingbird July 25, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    A Maze Runner would be a nice job, albeit the longest you’d have the job would be 2 years, and from what I’ve heard the benefits aren’t really that great either…Sure looks great a on a resume though 🙂

    • Emory July 25, 2013 at 11:06 am #

      Hahaha! Job security is so hard to find these days! But yes, looks better on a resume than a bagger, I would think. 🙂

  2. Merrilee G Lewis July 25, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    Fun! So many choices!!

  3. Kristy Daum July 25, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    Great options…how about A Companion?

    • Emory July 25, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

      Oooooh! Good one!
      And there are more companion opportunities for women than for men, so we may have a bit more of a chance… 🙂

  4. Kayla Sanchez July 25, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    I think we’re missing Auror on this list! Or what about a Dragon Rider?

    Ahh… what’s so bad about being Game Maker? I could totally handle that!

    • whovian99 July 26, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      DRAGON RIDER!!! You go, girl!! Also, I would LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE to be a Companion. 😀

    • Emory July 26, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

      Ooh, those are some good ones!
      And hey, Game Maker, is for some people, and not for others. Follow your dreams, Kayla.

      • whovian99 July 27, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

        Ooh, ooh, ooh, what about….a DEMIGOD?! (Percy Jackson series)

      • Emory July 29, 2013 at 6:54 am #

        Heeeey! Nice one! Also, Percy warns us about THAT occupation right off the bat in the first book, so I would already have my “downside” written for me! 🙂

      • whovian99 July 30, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

        Haha, true. 🙂

  5. whovian99 July 26, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    EMORY EMORY EMORY!!! HAVE YOU EVEN SEEN THIS, GIRL?!?!?!?!? OMG OMG OMG FREAKING OUT OVER HERE SOMEONE GET A MEDIC http://screenrant.com/thor-dark-world-second-trailer-date/ AUGUST 7TH!!! I CAN’T WAIT THAT LONG

    • Emory July 26, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

      WHAT SON
      THESE SHENANIGANS ARE UNACCEPTABLE

    • Kayla Sanchez July 26, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

      I WAS HAVING A PERFECTLY CALM NIGHT UNTIL I SAW THIS

      • whovian99 July 27, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

        SORRY GUYS BUT I JUST HAD TO LET YOU KNOW

  6. geekygirl91 July 27, 2013 at 2:23 am #

    “I could stitch an outfit together out of teddy bears and hand grenades and no one would question me.”

    That,my girl,is perfectly reasonable. I have probably spent hours admiring the gamemaker’s beard. Oh gosh.

  7. chantalle93 July 27, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

    Hey! I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Awards. Check it out here: http://thatsnerdtastic.wordpress.com/2013/07/28/rory-williams-the-master-and-the-super-sweet-blogging-award/ and nominate some people if you want 🙂

    • Emory July 29, 2013 at 6:53 am #

      Awww, thanks lovely! You are a pretty darn super sweet blogger yourself! 😀

  8. KateB July 28, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    I love Psych. And amazingly enough I’ve never considered psychic detective as a career path…. but I did want to be a Disney Princess. Mostly for the perfect hair and talking animal companions… 😛 I now see the potential hazards 😛

    • Emory July 28, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

      Hey, always happy to help! Perfect hair, as with all magic, comes with a price!

    • whovian99 August 4, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      I love Psych, too!! Now, who, like myself, loves Lassie? ❤

      • Emory August 4, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

        ::raises hand and waves it around::

      • whovian99 August 5, 2013 at 6:47 am #

        YAY!! You’ve just become even more awesome, if that’s even possible. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Career Mapping for the Fictionally Inclined Part 3 | Freak of Fandom - September 15, 2013

    […] Part 1 and Part 2 of my fictional job search, I covered eleven potential occupations, but there are still more that […]

  2. Career Mapping for the Fictionally Inclined Part 4 | Freak of Fandom - November 18, 2013

    […] purpose of this series –  to find out which fictional careers best suit you and I.  Part 1, part 2, and part 3 covered seventeen of them, but the supply is not nearly exhausted. Join me as I widen […]

  3. Career Mapping for the Fictionally Inclined Part 5 | Freak of Fandom - August 17, 2015

    […] to the long-coming fifth installment of Career Mapping for the Fictionally Inclined (Parts 1, 2, 3, 4): Your source for when you want to start deciding where you fit in the […]

  4. Career Mapping for the Fictionally Inclined Part 4 | Freak of Fandom - August 17, 2015

    […] to the long-coming fifth installment of Career Mapping for the Fictionally Inclined (Parts 1, 2, 3, 4): Your source for when you want to start deciding where you fit in the […]

Leave a Reply

