Another Very Whovian Post

7 Aug

Last Sunday, an announcement of inestimable importance was made to the geek world.

As you already have internet access, chances are you’ve heard this news. You may have already drawn up fan art and written fanfics and spammed internet forums with your opinion.

However, I’m going to re-announce it, because news this massive has to be taken in doses. Let’s take it back to Sunday.

Last Sunday, we learned who the Twelfth Doctor was.

Last Sunday, we learned who’s still not ginger.

Number Nine does, as ever, speak the truth.

Ladies, gentlemen, and variations thereupon, meet Peter Capaldi, the Twelfth Doctor.

Peter

Or, as the Whovian internet community has come to know him, Alpacapaldi.

Alpacapaldi

That’s correct. We’ve only acknowledged his existence for four days, and we’ve already pasted his face onto a fluffy quadruped. Welcome to the family, Peter.

When the news broke, I was in my church nursery, trying to follow someone’s live-blogging of the program. (For the record, hiding an emotional crisis is even harder when you’re surrounded by adults who don’t care and nine-month-olds who aren’t even aware that they’re missing out on something)

When the Twelfth Doctor’s name was announced, I pulled up Internet Movie Database as fast as possible and searched for Peter Capaldi’s bio.

And then proceeded to stare at the page blankly.

I’m not sure what I was expecting.

But it’s safe to say that fifty-five-year-old Capaldi was not it.

It was like seeing someone I’ve known and loved for years suddenly turn into someone I just don’t.

So, basically… regeneration.

I went through the normal stages of acceptance. Caring soul that I am, of course I made sure half my church knew about this Gallifrey-tinted revelation. Shipper that I am, I carried on to mourn the loss of my young Doctor and the sudden creepiness of Whouffle (the Clara/Doctor ship). But then, fan that I am, I remembered: The Doctor is over 1200 years old.

Guys.

Fifty-five is fabulous.

If you’re over a hundred years old and you’re still in charge of your bodily functions, it’s impressive. So being over a thousand years old and looking fifty-five – you’re doing pretty darn well, friend.

And as far as casting goes, it makes sense. If you’re like me and spend far too much brain power empathizing with fictional characters, you’ve probably noticed Eleven’s I’m-At-Least-Four-Hundred-Years-Too-Old-For-This look.

(If you’ve bothered to stick around this long in the post, I’m going to assume you do spend an inordinate amount of brain power on fiction. You’re not alone here.)

In most of his recent episodes, Eleven has a moment where every single one of his 1200 years shows on his face. He spends so much time trying to be an adolescent; I’m sure his repressed tired old man is screaming to get out.

I don’t think that Twelve will, in fact, be a “tired old man,” but I think he will serve as a reminder that the Doctor has been around the block a few times, and has most certainly been hurt and hardened by it.

So, while I’m sure that I won’t like to see my Doctor sign off, I am intrigued by the impending next few seasons. I am also pretty certain that Capaldi will soon be added to the list of men whom I shouldn’t be attracted to, but am anyway.  I look forward to the adventures that always accompany the last Time Lord.

The Twelfth Doctor

So, dear Twelve:

35 Responses to “Another Very Whovian Post”

  1. thewanderingballoon August 7, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    So basically … regeneration. Yes.

    • Emory August 7, 2013 at 11:54 am #

      Every metaphor when back to the actual event. It was a bit of an issue.

  2. Geeky Mommy August 7, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    Love. While I did know who Peter Capaldi was (is), I can appreciate not knowing. I’m with you here (I have a freak out of my reactions over on Geeky Mommy too!). I’m looking forward to this one and could TOTALLY see Eleven, being so tired of this, going older in regeneration. Yep. It works.

    Love you, love your work!

    • Emory August 7, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

      Thank you so much! I just checked out your post, and it was fantastic. I’m glad to see we think alike! And, geeky mom, you have some very fortunate children 🙂

  3. mbscully August 7, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

    Reblogged this on M. B. Scully and commented:
    I only heard the news yesterday, as work has kept me a bit disconnected from the fandom (my MOTHER, who has seen a grand total of maybe four episodes had to tell me), but today is the first time I’ve seen a picture of Capaldi. Honestly, I’m not sure what I think of him…but I wasn’t sure what to think about Matt Smith either.

    I am very excited to see how Capaldi will do as Twelve. After someone revives me from drowning in a puddle of my own tears when Eleven goes.

  4. secondchanced August 7, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

    Haha, “I am also pretty certain that Capaldi will soon be added to the list of men whom I shouldn’t be attracted to, but am anyway.” OMG, this will most likely happen to me to!! 😛
    I had no clue who he was either and I was totally NOT expecting him–I don’t know who I was expecting. He’s seems like a really cool dude, though, and I’m excited he’s going to be Twelve. I think going back to an older actor is a good idea, I mean it’s like getting a little bit of the Classic Doctors back, which is pretty cool IMO.

    • Emory August 7, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

      He does seem cool, doesn’t he! And I agree that it’s fun to see some ClassicWho in NewWho. Even the new intro is a little bit reminiscent of ClassicWho, with the Doctor’s face in it. 🙂 It’s gonna be an adventure!

      • secondchanced August 8, 2013 at 6:36 am #

        Oh, yeah. I CANNOT wait! 😀

    • Emily C. August 8, 2013 at 11:06 am #

      Exactly. I was cautiously uncertain too, then confused, then intrigued, then wryly amused, since he even looked a teensy bit creepy, and imagining how the personality will play out, and the typical ‘regeneration cycle’ someone described below, and should be neat. Especially with the interesting quirk of him having been on DW/Torchwood before, and was in World War Z as a doctor for the W.H.O. (it’s like they knewwww!) ;D

  5. melanie August 7, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

    I love it. I love you! best response ever!

    and I too am so exicted to fall in love with a man that is much to old for me, he can join Alan Rickman, Geoffery Rush and about 100 others

    • Emory August 7, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

      Hahaha! Is it just me, or is every attractive male actor in a perpetual state of “way too old for me”? 😉

  6. Merrilee G Lewis August 7, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    it’s going to be great – someone I can identify with ❤

    • Emory August 7, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

      Hahaha! But you’re younger!

  7. Kayla Sanchez August 7, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    I’m really hoping he’ll be a bit more like Nine. I haven’t seen any of Eleven’s seasons yet to compare to, but I really miss sassy, passionate Nine.

    Oh and don’t worry, I’m already attracted to the man and I have no idea who he is!

    • Emory August 7, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

      I think you’ll get your wish! Attractive older men are the perfect grounds for sassiness. 🙂

      • Kayla Sanchez August 8, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

        Oy! Thanks to you I’m starting the fifth season of Doctor Who! I’m not so sure about Matt yet…

      • Emory August 8, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

        He’s my Doctor (due to the strange order I watched them in), so, while I may be biased, I think he’ll grow on you! Like secondchanced said, the best thing you can do now is give him a chance! 🙂

      • Kayla Sanchez August 8, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

        I watched Fall of the Eleventh (is that the right title? I hope so), and I’m 100% in love with him! I think I might offend a few Whovians by saying this, but I’m thinking my favorite Doctors will go Nine, Eleven, then Ten. Now I’ve got the bug! *goes and watches more episodes*

      • secondchanced August 8, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

        Keep watching, Kayla!! You’ll learn to love him as much as the rest of us. The key is giving him a chance–which you seem to be doing. Good luck!! 🙂

      • secondchanced August 8, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

        KAYLA!! I feel the same way!! Nine is my Doctor, and then I just love Eleven, and then Ten is great, too. So it’s 9, 11, 10. 😀

  8. freak0nature August 8, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    I feel that those who are nay saying this new Doctor just need some time and a couple new episodes. It’s the Whovian cycle 1. The announcement and initial regeneration: Who’s this jerk? There’s no way he can be as good as [insert number here], I miss my Doctor. 2. First few episodes/first season: Well, he’s alright I guess. I still wish he was the other Doctor though. 3. Second half of first season/rest of seasons: I love this guy! 4. Last season: No! I just got to know him, there wasn’t enough time. No, don’t go!
    Rinse lather and repeat. I personally think it’s an interesting choice and seeing as the newer Doctors have taken traits of their favorite past Doctors, David had similarities with Five, Matt with Two, I’m hoping Peter has similarities with Four. That way he can be both stern and crazy and fun. I’m looking forward to it. The worst part of the special where they introduced him wasn’t the new Doctor but Matt’s face in his video. I just want to give him a hug and tell him everything will be ok. Love your post btw, simple, elegant, and full of intelligent humor. I am definitely not regretting subscribing to you.

    • Emory August 8, 2013 at 9:06 am #

      “Rinse, lather, and repeat.” Hahaha, yes! 🙂
      I would love to see a Four-esque Doctor as well. Fingers crossed! And thank you so much for your kind words, Love!

  9. Kire August 8, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Can we please have t-shirts?

    • Emory August 8, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      Affirmative, darling.

      • Kire August 8, 2013 at 10:45 am #

        *Happy Dance*

  10. ashleyrachelle99 August 8, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    Hello, I’m relatively new to the blogging scene, but it would mean the world to me if any of you could follow my blog, The Random Ramblings of a Devoted Fangirl. Thanks!
    – Ashley

  11. Invisible Woman August 8, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    My face at discovering 12: *picture a cross between a puppy who’s master has just left him forever and a black hole ready to destroy anything that gets in the way of its mass destruction*
    Still working on getting past stage 1.

    • Emory August 9, 2013 at 7:03 am #

      I understand, my dear. I’m going to be an incoherent, blubbering mess when my Eleven leaves.

  12. The Voyager August 12, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    Actual thought process I had when Capaldi was announced on the live thing:

    “Knew it. The sources were right. He seems nice. Ooh, he’s Scottish. I hope he uses his accent on the show. He’s acting humble. That’s good. Humble is good. Oh, good, he’s an actual nerd. Nerds are definitely good. He’s kind of old. Is he -too- old? Eh…..

    Come on, Melissa. He’s 55. He’s older than your parents. Stop it. Nope. Uh-uh.

    Okay, MAYBE you can be attracted to him. But ONLY A LITTLE BIT OKAY? OKAY.”

    So yeah. I’m just as screwed up as you are.

    (For the record, I just think he’s not-ugly. I’m not in love with him. Yet. *facepalm*)

    • Emory August 12, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

      Ahahahaha! Aww, I don’t think of it as “messed up,” I think of it as… Non-discriminatory. 🙂 And, oh, it’s so good to know I’m not alone in this predicament.

      • The Voyager August 12, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

        Non-discriminatory. Yeah. Let’s go with that.

  13. Sadie August 17, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    I think he will be a great doctor (even if older than I would have preferred) but in his own words:
    The big reason, the real reason that Doctor Who is still with us, is because every single viewer who ever turned on this show, at any age, any time in it’s history, any time in their history, it took to their heart. Doctor Who belongs to all of us.
    -Peter Capaldi

    But enough being wordy. Now, I just wanted to let you know how grateful I am to you for posting this. I thought I was the only one on earth who fell in love with men who are 3 times my age! Tom Hiddleston, David Tennant… I won’t go through the whole list.
    Thank you!!!!!

    • Emory August 17, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

      Oh anytime, sweetheart! You are most certainly not alone in your sophisticated taste if men! 😉
      Love that quote from Peter Capaldi, by the way. So good!

  14. anonymous November 1, 2013 at 6:27 am #

    He was more well-known than Smith and Tennant before they stepped into the role of the Doctor.

    • Emory November 1, 2013 at 9:08 am #

      Yeah, I guess he was! I know now that I saw him in World War Z before they announced his Doctor Who citizenship, but I didn’t recognize him then.

Leave a Reply

