Labelmaker

10 Aug

If you’ve even tossed a sideways glance at my blog, you can probably tell I’m a fangirl. Whether your first clue was my casual declarations of love for people who don’t know I’m alive, or whether you just read the title of my blog, you know.

I’m an open book about this. A graphic novel, probably.

But I digress.

I’m a fangirl, yes. You may be one too, or a fanboy, if you’re reading this. (or maybe you just know me in real life, so you think you’re bound by contract to look at this thing)

But that is not our beginning and end, is it? There’s more to us.

A person could be a baby-sitting, music-writing, wildlife-enthusiast who loves to skateboard, and we would just call this person a “skater” and leave it at that.

That, my friends, is the magic of labels!

Labels have a definite negative connotation, but they don’t always feel like a bad thing. I’ve grown so accustomed to the label “nerd” that I’ve changed from detesting it to preferring it.  I feel as if I would be almost unrecognizable without that sticker on my forehead.

Labels are comfortable. If you’re given a label, it feels like you’ve been categorized. You know where you belong. You find people with the same label and make easy friends. But as much as labels are capable of bringing people together, we can’t forget that the entire purpose of labeling is to keep like items in the same place, and to separate them from other objects.

Obviously, that is no perfect metaphor. If I, as a fangirl, spend a day with a hipster, some all-powerful, OCD-driven dude doesn’t reach out of the sky and stuff me back in my room with my laptop open to tumblr. I do that by myself What I’m trying to say, is that if one of your traits, hobbies, or interests earns you a label, that label does not define you. That label was created for a people who are similar to you, but are in no way, shape, or form, you.

Labels not only provide you with a name, they lay expectations on you. You are suddenly supposed to be the prime example of your kind. You’re not expected to exhibit any traits that are incongruent with your label.

And no matter what label you’ve been assigned, or what label you’ve chosen to identify with, you will fail. Plain and simple.

I’ve been called “geek,” “nerd,” and “fangirl,” all of which I tend to agree with, but I don’t watch My Little Pony, and I have no clue what Homestuck is. I’m not a straight-A student, I don’t enjoy science and I’m not good at math. I really enjoyed Iron Man 2 and 3. Do these things mean that my nerd card is going to be revoked?

Are the geek police going to burn down my house tonight?

[Please don’t.]

I am a Christian, and that word can sometimes be used as a label too. Not a bad label – I don’t regret my decision to be one – and I think that “Christian” is different from other labels because it cannot be assigned to you unless you assign it to yourself. But it still can function as a label, because it’s another title that I fail in. The Bible says that all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.

Well now, that was quick.

See, I’ve failed in every label I’ve taken on, and I will continue to do just that.

No label is a perfect label, because labels do not work on us. 

(Unless you are an office supply)

Humans are not boxes of items to be neatly categorized. We are crazy, beautiful, and far too messy to be labelled in any cohesive fashion.

We’re just… so changeable.

I think we can all agree that we should not stuff something as important as our identities into a neat little box. Your identity is important. Don’t base it in anything more temporary than eternal, or anything more constricting than infinite.

So next time someone labels you, or you label yourself, or you label somebody else (It’ll happen. We’re human. We name stuff.), just remember that people are not office supplies; no human organization technique is one-size-fits-all.

You are the only you.

Own it.

11 Responses to “Labelmaker”

  1. robynwilde August 10, 2013 at 7:31 am #

    Can I just say that you kind of inspire me, your worldview is awesome, and I want you for a friend? (Without sounding completely creepy, that is.)

    • Emory August 10, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      Totally not creepy at all, I love friends. 🙂
      Thank you ever so much, sweetheart!

  2. secondchanced August 10, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    Well, as robynwilde said, that was very inspiring. Thanks for that. Made my day! 😀

    • Emory August 11, 2013 at 11:11 am #

      Aww, thank you darling! I am happy to be a part of your day!

  3. youin5minutes August 10, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    that was amazing! I couldn’t agree with that more myself. I’m not just saying that though.
    It’s funny though, I was thinking about writing something about that kind of topic, how I’m a daycare teacher by day, a writer by night and a fangirl all the time. but you have said it better than I possible could. 🙂

    • Emory August 11, 2013 at 11:13 am #

      Thank you so much! I know there are things I didn’t cover, as we’re a little too complex for one post. I would still love to read your thoughts on the topic, if you decide to do a post on it!

      • youin5minutes August 11, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

        I might just do that, I wasn’t thinking of anything extensive, but it was a passing thought. maybe one of my lazy half days of work I’ll whip something up. 🙂

  4. Kire August 10, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Absolutely amazing. YOU are amazing. I was totally expecting some crazy post about Sherlock’s Mind Palace. Keep up the good work.

    • Emory August 11, 2013 at 11:14 am #

      You are so darn good to me. 🙂 Thank you!

  5. Merrilee Lewis August 15, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    Awesome!!

    • Emory August 15, 2013 at 11:42 am #

      Thank you, Dearest!

Leave a Reply

