The Super-Sweet Liebster Award

20 Aug

The marvelous ladies who run the blogs Awkward Geeky Girl and The Thousand Lives have nominated me for the Super Sweet Blogging award and the Liebster award. Many thanks, darlings!

And everyone else – check those ladies out. You’ve got geek-flavored loveliness from Awkward Geeky Girl, and literary fabulousness from The Thousand Lives. I believe you will enjoy.

Since I waited an unacceptably long time to accept either of these awards, I will merge them into one super-post of lengthy question-answering.

All right, everyone ready?

*cricket sounds*

Let’s get this drawn-out and incredibly low-key party started!

To accept the Super Sweet Blogger award, rules dictate that I answer five scrumptious inquiries:Image

  1. Cookies or Cake? Cake. More specifically, funfetti cake with rainbow chip frosting. It’s important to know what you want out of life.
  2. Chocolate or vanilla? Oh, something like me… Exotic with a touch of mystery… Vanilla. [Also, if you understood that even-more-obscure-than-normal reference, we should be best friends]
  3. Favorite sweet treat? Mango  or pink lemonade sorbet.
  4. When do you crave sweet things the most? Evening. Seven O’ clock and later.
  5. Sweet nickname? The only nickname that has stuck is Valkyrie. I don’t know how “sweet” that is, but I like it.

And now to nominate some other super sweet bloggers! I know of a couple.

  • Ramblings of a Misguided Squirrel – A lass named Beth who Doesn’t Forget To Be Awesome. She writes (in true fangirl fashion) about fandoms, nerdiness, music, and other random goodness.
  • GunStonesUnborn – This young lady runs a mainly theological blog, and I like to read her posts and start off the day with Bible-flavored niceness. This blogger also watches BlimeyCow, so we know she’s pretty great.
  • The Ultimate Voyage – Yes, I know, I’ve talked about how much I like this blog before. Well, I still like it. The Voyager writes a bit of nerdy, a bit of gospel truth, and a lot of awesome. If you didn’t check her out the other times I mentioned her, do it now.
  • That’s Geektastic! – I’ve followed this woman for a while now (virtually. I want to point that out.), and her Doctor Who/Supernatural/other assorted TV-related posts always make me smile. Actually, I just realized about seven seconds ago that she also nominated me for this award. I think that means I can’t nominate her. Well, I am going to anyway, because she’s fabulous. Take that.

As for the Liebster award acceptance, I answer the questions of my nominator and assign questions of my own to the nominees. Kayla’s (from the Thousand Lives) questions for me were:

  1. How long did it take you to settle into your blog? I got comfortable after about a month, but in the third month, I began to really establish my style and create a design I liked.
  2. How long have you been blogging, and what made you start blogging? I’ve been blogging for seven months (my little baby’s growing so fast). I started Freak of Fandom because I loved to write, but I needed practice and structure, and I thought writing this blog would be a good way to get those things.
  3. Give me a profile of yourself? I am sixteen years old, I live in Central Oregon (Also known as Gravity Falls), I babysit frequently, I am homeschooled, I am passionate about parmesan cheese and all forms of story-telling, and I love Jesus!
  4. What was your best memory in high school? Probably my 2010 field trip to Ashland for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.
  5. Who inspires you, and why? C. S. Lewis. The life of this man amazes me, and his books are nothing short of inspirational. He took sophisticated themes and turned them into legendary stories dripping with wisdom, and for that, readers everywhere are grateful. He understood and communicated things I may never have thought about; he was a beautiful instrument of God’s.
  6. What are your three favorite books? Well, three of them are A Wrinkle in Time (Madeleine L’Engle), Wonderstruck (Brian Selznick), and The Beatrice Letters (Lemony Snicket).
  7. What book has influenced you the most in your life? Jimmy Coates: Assassin by Joe Craig. It was the story to get me out of my anti-book slump, and it was the first book (series) I ever fangirled over. (I couldn’t not write about that experience)
  8. Which character would be your best friend, if they were in the flesh? Lucy Pevensie from C. S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia. I would love to have an adventure with her.
  9. What is your favorite book-to-movie adaption? Holes. I loved that movie when I was little, and when I finally read the book, it was like reading a transcript of the movie. Very faithfully adapted.
  10. If you could say one thing to your favorite author, what would it be and who would it be to? Lemony Snicket (given name Daniel Handler). I would want to let him know that I owe my dark sense of humor to him, and half my vocabulary as well. And I would very much like to give him a massive hug.

My questions:

  1. State your name, rank, and intention. (No, it’s not a question, but it’s fun to say out loud)
  2. What is your favorite quotation?
  3. If you could have any fictional character’s life for a day, who would you choose?
  4. How would you handle that life?
  5. Do you have any fictional crushes? If so, who?
  6. If you could make any canonical crossover happen between two fictional universes, which ones would you choose?
  7. Who are three of your heroes? (These ones have to be real people)
  8. What period of history interests you the most?
  9. If you could fill a swimming pool with any food or drink (other than water), what would you fill it with?
  10. Would you rather live in a library where you can have all the books and movies you want with no late fees, a zoo where all the animals know and love you, or a theater, where you get front-row seats and backstage passes to every play?

Time for my Liebster nominees. This award is meant to introduce people to new blogs and is generally reserved for people who have under a hundred followers and deserve way, way more. Therefore, I nominate the following:

  • The Random Ramblings of a Devoted Fangirl – A lovely, geeky young lady who is new to the blogging scene. She runs a delightful blog, loves her BBC and other assorted fandoms, owns a hedgehog (whaaaaat), and deserves a follow.
  • I Am Such A Geekly Girl – A, well, “geekly” girl whose blog is nothing short of adorable, and who posts a lot of kawaii sweetness. I just found her on the blogosphere today. Give her a look?
  • BlogBlogBlog ~ The Random Rantings of a Teenage Girl – You would think that you could pretty much get an idea of her posts from her title, but her posts range from joyful book-fangirling to deep and thoughtful posts about the things on her mind. I know this girl in real life, and I am very blessed to. Go meet her!
  • For the Win – Once again, yes, I’ve already said nice things about this blogger, but they still stand. Hop on over to her blog for fangirl-isms, Jesus love, Tom Hiddleston appreciation, and writing and gifs that will make you smile.

Thus concludes the passing of the Super-sweet Liebster torches!

I apologize for the rambly post today; we’ll be back to our regularly scheduled programming right after this break.

Have a sparkling day!

8 Responses to “The Super-Sweet Liebster Award”

  1. HBubbles August 20, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    Not at all drawn out and low-key. I enjoyed it! Thanks for giving us insight into you~ (Also, inspiration. If you can do this, I can!)

    • Emory August 20, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

      Thanks Hbubbles! And hey, If you start a blog, you should send me a link so I can follow you! 🙂

  2. robbinsrealm August 21, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    Congratulations!

  3. The Voyager August 21, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    I feel sort of like a failure because I didn’t /actually/ know what that was a reference to, though it flashed into my mind. Probably only because you classified it as “more-obscure-than-normal”. I didn’t ever really pay attention to the thing being referenced, though, because I’m a bad homeschooler.

    Also, thanks for the sweetness. ❤

    • The Voyager August 21, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

      I know that, silly. I was just trying not to spoil the reference. Hence my not saying the name in my comment.

      *facepalm* I guess my subtlety doesn’t always work.

      • Emory August 21, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

        What? What are you talking about? I didn’t totally shame myself and then have to delete my own comment! Pfff that would be unprofessional of me! And super unobservant! Don’t look at me!
        *retreats into a corner*

      • The Voyager August 22, 2013 at 7:00 am #

        *pats on back* S’okay, Jinglebells.

Leave a Reply

