Open in New Tab

11 Sep

Friends, family, fangirls:

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but the world is full of things.

Full of them.

There is an abundance of stuff, indoors and outdoors, in people’s heads, on their tongues, hidden in places we’ll never find, and on billboards for everyone to see. It’s everywhere you look.

Therefore, focusing on just one of those things is a task whose difficulty I consistently underestimate.

Focus is harder than you would expect an unobtrusive, two-syllable word to be. And in this generation, it is even worse. I usually try to console myself by saying that of course I have problems focusing, all Half-bloods have ADHD symptoms, so why should I be any exception?

That excuse is a little more problematic that I like my excuses to be, but I take what I can get.

When I can’t focus, my brain turns into a weird Twilight Zone version of youtube. I’ve got one thing going over here, and I’m trying to pay attention to it, but there’s something in my mental sidebar I need to check out as well. So I hit “open in new tab” and try to remember to think about that next. Then I see something else I should look at. Thirty seconds later I have forty-two tabs open, and some of the audio is overlapping and I can’t find which one is making the noise and anyway the internet connection is slowing down and nothing is working anyway and then

nope.

Any semblance of concentration I had has evaporated.

Time to lie down and try to calm the brain-static.

Or

Maybe I’ll just open a new tab and browse something to settle my mind down!

Even worse: Maybe I’ll just open a new tab and browse something while I work in another window!

Public service announcement: You cannot write a speech and watch Psych at the same time. There. I just saved you two hours of poorly-written drivel and not-properly-enjoyed Psych. You’re welcome.

I don’t know about you guys, but I am a multitasker only in that I like to sing show tunes while I wash dishes. If I try anything else, especially academics-related, the only result is that I do two things poorly instead of just one.

That’s efficiency, people. Take notes. And even without the multi-tasking trap, sometimes I use other ways to trick myself into opening that new tab; such as logging onto pinterest to inspire my brain to do something creative. Adorably naive of me, I know.

As much as you might think it will, clicking through pins of TARDIS-themed shoes, Misha Collins, Great Gatsby quotes, and plant terrariums does not give a brain ideas.  It just goes,

     “Hey, this is fun. We should do nothing more often.”

“I brought you here to get inspired, brain.”

     “That so? You’re hilarious. But not as hilarious as this gif of Zachary Quinto.”

“Mm, you have a good point.” *opens gif in new tab*

I think I’ve made my point. It’s barely even the problem of procrastination – it’s distraction. And procrastination. There’s a fair amount of both, but hey, stay with me here, I’m getting to the point in the post that you read in your serious voice.

I was talking about the overabundance of stuff at the beginning of this post. It’s not just school that is affected by stuff, there’s work, there’s relationships, there’s good old fashioned life. Stuff is still there. Distractions and obstacles and hurdles made of the stuffiest stuff that stuff can be made out of.

This post is stuff.

I’m sorry, but it’s true. I’ve lured you into more stuff.

Stuff is by no means always terrible thing. There’s just a limit to how much we can handle at once. Being bogged down by a lot of good uses for your time is still being bogged down. It’s more than okay to take a break and get away from stuff.

If this post is one of the things between you and that thing you have to get done, I apologize. Hit the little X button on the top of this window and flee to somewhere where nothing has a glowing screen.

Trust me, that wakes up your brain and brings it to attention far faster than any board on Pinterest.

I’m doing okay so far. I know that focus is attainable.

If I can just stay in one tab for a while, then I’ll be fine.

13 Responses to “Open in New Tab”

  1. imwiththeblutbad September 11, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Wow. You literally just put into words what’s happening with me right now! (And happens frequently.) The Pinterest example is particularly funny and painfully accurate 😉

    And you’re right, we are bombarded with an abundance of stuff on a daily basis. I’m easily distracted so this rarely works out well.

    • Emory September 12, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      Oh man, I hear you on the easily-distracted thing. It’s cause for celebration every time I get something done. 🙂
      And thank you so much for your kind words!

  2. Merrilee G Lewis September 11, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

    Anime magic 🙂

  3. Kristy Daum September 12, 2013 at 6:57 am #

    This is another great post in the long line of great posts! Your thoughts on distraction could not be more accurate.

    • Emory September 12, 2013 at 11:42 am #

      Thank you so much, Kristy! I was fairly distracted while I wrote it, so I suppose that gave me some pretty hands-on material.

  4. Invisible Woman September 12, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    Thank you for the posts that I read in my serious voice, and then take with me through the rest of my day like a widsom-bestowing wizard 🙂 An anime, wisdom-bestowing wizard, in this case.
    Have a good day, dear.

    • Emory September 12, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

      Awwww, an anime wizard? You darling, thank you so much! I hope you have a remarkably fabulous day. 😀

  5. secondchanced September 12, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    You are so right, oh my gosh. I do this way too much and then when I finally drag myself off of my laptop I remember something that I forgot and write it down and then forget 40 more times before I actually do it. And then I think of something else. And…well, you pretty much summed up my internet life in one post. You’re brilliant. 😀

    • Emory September 12, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

      Hey, thanks Gorgeous! … Great internet lives think alike? Hm. That might not catch on, but still, thanks for the comment! 😉

  6. chantalle93 September 23, 2013 at 12:58 am #

    I do my uni work with Doctor Who or Supernatural on in the background and suddenly my work becomes the biggest load of crap I have ever written haha And then, when my brain is confused because of this I turn to pinterest or tumblr and never get off 😛

    • Emory September 23, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      I know exactly how you feel.
      Awman, tumblr is a deep, inescapable pit.

  7. Wasp October 13, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

    I can’t even tell you how relatable this is! In fact… I am in a mess of “open in new tab” right now. There is speech very much NOT getting done at the moment (:

  8. Mandy August 1, 2015 at 3:31 pm #

    You couldnt be more right!!!!

Leave a Reply

