Trailer Breakdown for Frozen

27 Sep

Yesterday, the trailer for Disney’s Frozen was released. Suffice to say I was a little excited, having been checking for this trailer nearly every day for something like three weeks. I like my Disney movies. But now that I’ve seen the trailer seventy times, it’s time to subject it to the breakdown.

If you haven’t seen the trailer yet, you can watch it here, and then you can come on back and analyze it with me.

[Dramatic voice-over]
F_1

“Summer in the city of Rivendell Arendelle: it couldn’t be warmer.”

That actually sounds pretty unpleasant.
F_2

“It couldn’t be sunnier.”

Why are all those people wearing long sleeves?
F_3

“But that’s about to change.”

Does anyone here know how to dress for the weather?F_4

“Forever.”

Oh, now, she’s wearing a sleeveless dress. Now that she’s on top of a mountain shooting sparkly ice out of her hands. I guess you do what you want when you’re queen.

F_7

I mean, if we’ve learned anything from the Chronicles of Narnia, it’s that queens have a propensity for cold, right?

And hey, everyone’s gonna be happy they’re already wearing winter clothes.F_8

“Coldcoldcoldcoldcold”

Except this fool.

Anna, honey, you gonna catch your death of cold.

F_9

Is anything fandom-related not happening in November? And don’t say Sherlock. We don’t need that kind of negativity here.F_10

Introducing: this obligatory Disney white horse and its incompetent rider.F_11

… Who has yet to figure out the mechanics of a jacket. I mean, come on. It’s snowing.f_12

“Really?”

Really.

f_13

F_14

“If we don’t do something soon, we’ll all freeze to death!”F_15

“You want to talk about a problem? I sell ice for a living.”F_17

“Ooh, that’s a rough business to be in right now! I mean that is really –

F_18

That’s unfortunate.”

Look at the pain on Ice Guy’s face. How could you be so insensitive, Anna?

F_19

We could ignore the horse’s expression, but I’d rather not. What is that?F_20

I’m going with “up to something.”

Disney animals are the biggest shippers of us all, folks.
F_21

“This is awkward. Not you’re awkward, but just cos we’re –F_22

I’m awkward. You’re gorgeous.F_23

Wait, what?”

Ladies and gentlemen, if you were looking for a way to identify with Anna, then there you go. We’re done here.
F_24

No.F_25

“Hi, everyone! I’m Olaf.”

In case you haven’t seen it, the original teaser for this film was a plot-free, human-free, dialogue-free two minutes of this little jerk fighting with a reindeer over a carrot, Ice Age-Scrat style. I think that’s enough backstory to explain why I may be a little hostile towards him.

F_26

Let’s all just appreciate the freckles for a second.
F_27

“I know how to stop this winter.”F_28

Ice Guy has a sweet ride. How much does the ice business pay?

“I like fast!”F_29

“WHOA WHOA whoawhoawhoa. Get your feet down. This is fresh lacquer.F_30

Seriously, were you raised in a barn?”

If no one else is gonna say it, I will.

F_31

“Let’s go bring back summer!”

Said the snowman.

Doesn’t something about that seem wrong to you?

F_32 F_33

“Wolves!”

Thank you, Ice Guy. I was curious about those feral, canine animals.F_34

“Duck!”

Mandolin: the new frying pan?F_35

“Oh mama, I have got to get me one of these!”F_38

“Are you okay?”

“I’ve got a thick skull.”

Ice Guy, you’re adorable.F_39

“I don’t have a skull.”

NO ONE ASKED YOU OLAFF_40

If you make a snowman joke, I will lose my mind.

F_41

gah.F_42

“Now we just have to survive this blizzard!”F_61

“That’s no blizzard!”F_43

F_60

“That’s my sister!”

Well, I guess you could say her sister Elsa is a… cold mess.

Get it? Like, not a hot mess, but a… You know what, forget it.

Look at Olaf’s smug little face.  Ice Guy had to carry him. Ice Guy has to carry a snowman through a snowstorm. 

F_45

“It is not nice to throw snowpeople!”F_46

Anna, even this bionicle snowman is frustrated that you’re defending that guy.F_47

There’s November again. Taunting us.F_48

“Olaf, you’re melting!”

Elsa, your voice doesn’t have any of the joy that I would think would go with that sentence. I’m concerned.

F_49

“Some people are worth melting for.”

Wait, snowman/sorceress pairing? Is that legal?

F_50

awesomeF_51

scene

F_52

montageF_53

“Olaf!”F_54

“Hang in there, guys!”

DANGIT OLAF

F_55

I am so far beyond excited for this movie.
F_56

“I can’t feel my legs! I can’t feel my legs!”

Olaf, you are MADE OF SNOW

“Those are my legs.”
F_57

“Oh, hey, do me a favor and grab my butt!”F_58

Did you justF_59Ice Guy,  you’re just encouraging him.

18 Responses to “Trailer Breakdown for Frozen”

  1. amynye48 September 27, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    It’ll be interesting how they pull this movie off…It looks like it could be really really good.

    • Emory September 27, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      I totally agree! I hope beyond HOPE that it’s a musical like Tangled. 🙂

  2. aveselka September 27, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Reblogged this on Girl on Fire and commented:
    A hilarious breakdown of the new “Frozen” trailer.

    • Emory September 27, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

      D’awwww, thank you so much! 🙂

  3. Kayla Sanchez September 27, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

    I… wat… wait… No Sherlock… in November… but when??? Why what no *crying*

    I haven’t watched the trailer yet, but I’ll get to it eventually I’m sure. It looks really good though! (And I’m totally rooting for the icy queen. Viva la evil!)

    • Emory September 27, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

      Rooting for evil! You little gamemaker, you. 😀

  4. Merrilee G Lewis September 27, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    “that’s no blizzard….that’s my sister” – I SO want to be given the opportunity to use this line!! Can’t wait for the movie!

    • Emory September 27, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

      Hahahaha! Neither can I! 😀

  5. Wasp September 27, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    AHHHH!!! FROZENFROZENFROZENFROZEN!!!!!!!!!!! I’m pretty excited xD

    • Emory September 27, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

      I KNOOOOOW ME TOO

  6. Emily C. September 28, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    Ok… um… it’s not often I feel so dense with just a Disney trailer…. ;PPP
    First viewing, not catching all the dialogue and just watching the picture, I thought fireplace girl was the same main girl, just… different lighting on the hair or magic happened. Sister? Huh? And several times (mandolin, guy/horse), my brain kept going ‘wait, c’mon, guys, this is Tangled! with snow!!’ ;P
    But as usual, I love your comments! 😀 Especially the Rivendell/clothing/Sherlock lines… seriously, November/December geekery! (but you aren’t the only one to find the snowman really irritating!)

    • Emory September 29, 2013 at 8:31 am #

      Don’t feel dense! I’m reeaaally happy to know that I wasn’t the only one who was confused by the suddenly-blonde Anna at the fireplace… No. Nope. Not Anna. They look exactly the same besides hair color! What’s up with that?
      And to be perfectly honest, I loved Tangled to such a degree that all the similarities, though slightly annoying, don’t bug me all that much. 🙂
      Also, LET US RISE AGAINST OLAF.

      • Emily C. September 29, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

        Ha…. oh, don’t get me wrong… I adored Tangled. Just… really odd to have a short trailer of another movie by the same people, presumably trying to be a creative new story (unless the ‘nods’ to it were on purpose) remind me of it so, many, times.
        And…. ghhh…. such annoyance over a minor element! And I didn’t even see that other trailer! I know the critter/sidekick is generally exaggerated comic/cutesy for kids, but… but still… so much over-the-topness and/or making it ‘idiotic’ in design (bucktooth, seriously?) or wit, loses me a little. Even Mushu from Mulan was ridiculously over-the-top at times, but in a way that fit him and balanced with seriousness. Eh, well.

      • Emory September 30, 2013 at 9:51 am #

        You are so very right. Olaf is just for the littles, and I can already imagine little plush toys of him popping up everywhere. I sincerely hope that he surprises me by being awesome or something (fingers crossed), but I don’t really expect him to. Mm, and Mushu. I loved him! He wasn’t just little-kid fodder, he was relevant for everyone.

  7. Wasp October 14, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    Oh, and something really quick… my lovely sister and I and a couple other people came to the conclusion that the young lady in the “Olaf, you’re melting” scene is actually Anna. Because she’s got her hair all braided and she’s wearing Anna’s outfit. Only her hair is blonde… I’m thinking plot twist? Anyways… just opinions (: But it always comes down to I CAN’T FREAKING WAIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Wasp October 14, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      Whoa… didn’t read the comments above… I did not mean to dig up old discussion… wow… this is bad /: ….. (: But I still think it’s Anna…. and also… I kind of like Olaf… sorry guys (:

  8. HBubbles December 27, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    Ollo! Digging back through posts… Found this gem. Glad to see I’m not alone in disliking Olaf, though he was marginally better in the movie.
    Aaaaaaannyways. What did you think of the movie?

    • Emory December 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

      Aw, darling! Haha yeah, I definitely liked Olaf better in the movie! I was expecting to want to melt him down, but that ended up not happening, which was a delightful surprised. And I cried. A lot.
      I went to see it a second time and I actually cried even more. I’m not proud, but life is a little too short to enjoy the full spectrum of human emotion, isn’t it?
      And I thought the music was enchantingly beautiful, especially Elsa’s Let it Go.
      What did you think?

Leave a Reply

