Denim Overalls

2 Oct

Hey guys, do you remember that time I put really outdated information in a post? As in, information from two whole years ago?

That was hilarious. I mean, that was a riot.

If you don’t remember it, then forget I said anything at all. I deleted that post, along with a good chunk of my dignity. No big deal.

But ah, I was so young and naive then. I can still remember that post as though it were yesterday. Or even, like twenty hours ago.

(On another note, it’s easy to ignore those little dates on the bottom of the google results.)

For those of you who happily missed it, I was basically whining about conflicting information regarding the development of the newest Narnia movie – yes the newest Narnia movie.

After some not-very-difficult research that I should have done earlier, I now know that The Silver Chair is currently in pre-production. Mystery solved.

Excuse me while I don the cone of shame.


But as Cecil Baldwin would say, “Let’s not dwell on our corpse-strewn past!”

As Disney’s Meet the Robinsons would say, “Keep moving forward!”

And as I say as of this exact moment, “They better not be kidding about The Silver Chair this time.”

After Voyage of the Dawn Treader back in 2010, I was stupid excited for the next one, and more than a little bit disappointed when it didn’t happen. My reaction to the news of a Silver Chair movie is slightly more reserved than it was three years ago.

I just don’t know if I’m ready to trust these people again, you know? I’m still hurting.

But I have to say, nothing would heal me faster than a cast list for The Silver Chair. (Except for fresh bagels, but that’s another point entirely)

You may notice that this post is far more casual than I usually intend my posts to be. In that case, as my train of thought has been totally derailed because the engineer overlooked doing her research properly before setting everything in motion (dang it, self), I’m going to turn this post into a denim overalls post (multi-functional and all-encompassing, though not very attractive).

Without any further ado,

  • A new Agents of SHIELD episode aired last night

    This is Ward. He is pretty cool.

The episode was about seventeen seconds underway when my mum said she thought Agent Ward was boring. Then she went and watched Grey’s Anatomy.

This has been Mum’s Reviews. See you next week.

But seriously, what did you guys think of it? I enjoyed it, but I have a couple of things to say about it – first, dangerously low cabin pressure is dangerously low cabin pressure. A thin sheet of vinyl does not change that. (if you didn’t see the episode, I’m speaking gibberish, in which case akdhf;af) Second, due to the copious amounts of cliched conversation between the two, I can now confirm that Skye’s and Ward’s relationship is heading… Skyward.

#SorryNotSorry

  • From Up on Poppy Hill is out on DVD

This actually happened a few weeks ago, but just in case a few of you have not seen it, I’m reminding you. I’m sure there’s a few of you anime fans out there. Just watch it. Watch it and giggle about how adorable and awkward everything is.

  • Poll results

In “Socially Involved,” a post I published several weeks ago, I asked if social media A) brought you closer to people, B) brought you closer to some people and make you want to Hulk-smash other people, C) made you want to Hulk-smash everyone, or D) I am Loki of Asgard and I have no time for shenanigans like “feelings.”

Most of you said B, only one person said A (I’m surprised that it got that many), and fourteen said D.

You guys are awesome.

[However, at least one or two of you is lying.]

  • Hiatus

I’m going to be taking a short hiatus from my blog soon, in order to both enjoy the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and to attempt to focus on school a little better. It’s not because an obscure, yet sinister, government operation is after me and I have to cover my tracks. It’s not that at all.

Stop even thinking about it.

Also, send help.

And have a spectacular day.

17 Responses to “Denim Overalls”

  1. Mockingbird October 2, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

    A floatie, children, will not stop things from flying out of the airplane at dangerous speeds. Don’t try this.
    I must ask, are you a Potterhead? I MUST KNOW.

    • Emory October 2, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

      Oh dear, okay, I will tell you my sad tale.
      I love the story of Harry Potter. I have read the first three books (and wanted to continue), seen one of the movies (Half-Blood Prince), know the storyline, know all the characters, know way too many spoilers –
      but my dad has a Potter prejudice, and at least for the time being, in order to avoid his disappointment stare, no, I am not a proper and legal Potterhead.
      But I hope to one day be.

      • Mockingbird October 2, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

        I respect your situation, but secretly cannot wait until you enter the fandom. We’ll have your welcome pack all ready for you.

      • Emory October 2, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

        You are a rare and beautiful unicorn, Mockingbird. I’m pretty dang excited myself.

      • HBubbles October 9, 2013 at 10:07 am #

        My situation exactly. So glad not to be alone. Here’s to officially joining someday!

  2. The Voyager October 3, 2013 at 7:21 am #

    Skyward. *facepalm* You’re so lame and I love you. HowEVER, that is a seriously awesome ship name.

    Have fun with your hiatus.

    • Mockingbird October 3, 2013 at 11:55 am #

      OH. MY. HOW DID I MISS THAT?

      • The Voyager October 3, 2013 at 11:56 am #

        DON’T WORRY IT TOOK ME A SECOND

      • Mockingbird October 3, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

        I’M SO RELIEVED.

    • Emory October 4, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

      (I actually had to facepalm when I wrote it out.)
      It was just begging to be said, and I have no regrets.

  3. WanderingRagamuffin October 4, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    I just…I juuuuuust…
    Ugh.

    If they jack Silver Chair up, I just…I just…I’ll cry. A lot. And for a long time.
    (I’m legitimately not excited about this movie because of exhibit A: Caspian, and exhibit B: Dawn Treader. Which is such a shame. Narnia is home).

    Also I will cry whilst you’re on hiatus. BUT HAVE SO MUCH FUNSIES.

    • Emory October 4, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      Mm. Your exhibits are certainly good reasons for a lack of excitement. I just have a LOT OF HOPE AND I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
      Thank you, I think I will have funsies! Just because you asked me! and please don’t cry because that would make me a sad duckling.

  4. Emily C. October 4, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    SHEILD: Been watching it!
    Poppy: Been meaning to!
    ‘skyward’: *couple second pause* *blink* *facepalm/amused groan* *wonders if they did that on purpose* Heh… I agree it’s been pretty cool, though… finally a neat comic-universe flavor show about the “other” guys, but still plenty of refs! Unfortunately also plenty of not-very-realistic ‘seriously??’ moments like you mentioned. Ah well… hopefully it’ll be one of those things where the team gets better together with time.

    • Emory October 4, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      I agree! Love the references, and hope the rest improves in future episodes. Definitely not giving up yet!
      And thank you.
      Amused groans are what I aim for. 🙂

  5. Merrilee G Lewis October 7, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    Nice:)

  6. HBubbles October 9, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    Wonderful post! Your overalls style of writing today leaves me scrambling likewise to comment, but I shall try. Firstly, I laughed when I saw your comment on your disappearing post. Dork. *huggle* But I am on the same page with concerning The Silver Chair. A great opportunity they could seriously mess up. Next, thank you Mum for the review. It was brilliant, as always. And I wanted to ask, will you continue reviewing the S.H.I.E.L.D. episodes? I quite enjoy reading your thoughts. Last night’s episode went better, I thought. Still cheesy, but toning down. (THANK YOU for the Skyward comment. I couldn’t stop laughing.)
    Lastly, the Night Vale reference used to explain your hiatus made my day.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On Catching Up | Freak of Fandom - October 23, 2013

    […] you are looking for another episode of Mum’s Reviews (and who isn’t) like a couple of weeks ago, I’m sorry, but this week, Grey’s Anatomy took up the entirety of her attention during […]

Leave a Reply

