Trailer Breakdown for Saving Mr. Banks

4 Dec

The official trailer for Saving Mr. Banks is not a very new one(watch it here), but with Frozen out in theaters, it seems that the cinematic tribute to the Mary Poppins author will be the next Disney movie to delight us. Cause enough for a celebration post, don’t you think?

(By the way, I’ve recently been to see Frozen, and, while I will not spoil anything for you, suffice to say it was beyond marvelous, and I take back every rude thing I ever said about you, Olaf. Forgive me?)

Now then. We have a trailer to break down.

Voiceover:

“Winds in the East,

smb_2

mist coming in,
smb_3

like something is brewing, smb_4

about to begin.”smb_5

Not voiceover:

“Ladies and Gentlemen, we are beginning our descent into Los Angeles.”smb_6

“Welcome, Mrs. P. L. Travers, to the City of Angels.”

(♫ Hop off the plane at LAX with a dream and my cardigan♪)smb_7

“It smells. Like – “

“Jasmine!”smb_8

“Chlorine. And sweat.”

(♫ My tummy’s turnin’/and I’m feelin’ kinda homesick♪)

See, it’d be easy to jab at her negativity, but come on, I’ve been to LA. It does not smell like jasmine.
smb_9

~ In which Pamela Travers does not make a friend.

(♫ That’s when the taxi man turned on the radio – okay, I’m done, I’m very sorry about that)smb_10

“Introducing the creator of our beloved Mary!”smb_11

“Poppins. Never ever just Mary.smb_12

Now, where is Mr. Disney?”

~ In which Pamela Travers does not make three more friends.smb_13

“She’s here.”smb_14

Disney!

Okay, I do recognize that Tom Hanks is not really Walt Disney, but I have definitely never wanted to give Tom Hanks a hug more than in this shot. Look at him.

smb_16

“Pamela Travers, you can’t imagine how excited I am to finally meet you!”smb_17

“Would you mind, my name is Mrs. Travers, Mr. Disney.”

(♫ This is all so crazy/Everybody seems so famous♪)

(Okay, I’m really really done now)smb_18

“Oh, Walt, now, you gotta call me Walt.”smb_19smb_20

If you need to cry about how perfect this shot is, I understand. Take your time.smb_21

“Twenty years ago, I made a promise to my daughters that I would make your Mary Poppins fly off the pages of your books!”smb_22smb_23

Calm down, Travers, if Disney wants to hold your hand, you let him hold your hand.smb_24

“I promised them, Pam.”

“Would you mind, that’s Mrs. Travers, Mr. Disney.

Also, hey, personal space is a thing you may not have heard of but I should probably explain.”

smb_25 smb_26

“I know what he’s going to do to her.

Fill her with perfect Disney magic?
smb_27

She’ll be cavorting. And twinkly!”

That’s what I said. Is that a problem?smb_28

“They can’t make the film unless you grant them rights!”

smb_29

smb_30

Did you just turn off Tinkerbell?smb_31

“Damn.”

I’m just as disgusted as you are. smb_32 smb_34

“She has a lot of ideas.”

The script says Saving Mr. Banks, but the outfit and bob say Hairspray.  *crosses fingers for this movie to secretly be a musical*smb_35

“What kind of ideas?”

smb_36

Mm, yes, that’s an idea face if I’ve ever seen one.smb_37

“The constable’s responstable! Now how does that sou-“smb_38

“No no no no no, ‘responstable’ is not a word!”

I don’t know, that was a pretty run-of-the-mill idea. Maybe I’ve never seen an idea face.
smb_39

“We made it up!”

smb_40

“Well, un-make it up.”

Madam! Would you tell Shakespeare to un-make his words?

Well, Madam? That’s it. Dishonor on your cow.
smb_41

“Good thing that was the only song we made up words for. Yep. We’re totally at the end of the list now, Mrs. Travers. All cleaned up for you.”smb_42

“She won’t approve of Dick Van Dyke.”

what

smb_43

“No?”

what

smb_44

“No.”

WHAT YOU DISGUST ME

smb_45

“The Banks’ house doesn’t look like that. No, no, it’s all wrong.”smb_46

“Supercalifragilisticespialidocious!”

So, maybe we made up one more word, but it’s kind of a nuance and I don’t think you’ll mind it”smb_47

“Stop! Mary Poppins is not for sale!

I’m sorry, but you’ve thrown off Mrs. Traver’s groove.

(papers screaming “I’m sooorrryyy!”)

smb_48

I won’t have her turned into one of your silly cartoons.”

 “Silly cartoons”? Okay, Mrs. Travers, I would have words with you, but I’ll wait until there are no preschool toys present.smb_49

“Says the woman who sent a flying nanny with a talking umbrella to save the children.”smb_50

“You think Mary Poppins has come to save the children?smb_51

Oh dear.”
smb_52

*scribbles Saving Mr. Banks on a startlingly long list of reasons to be excited for Christmas*
smb_53

“Mrs. Travers, what am I missing here?smb_54

I’m wondering what I have to do to make you happy.smb_55

I don’t know, Disney. If sending her a stuffed Mickey didn’t work, I’m fresh out of ideas.

You know, you’ve never been to Disneyland, and that’s the happiest place on earth!”smb_56

“No, no, no, please,”smb_57

“When does anybody get to go to Disneyland with Walt Disney himself?”

When you’re Walt Disney, you earn the right to say that without sounding egocentric in the slightest. That’s how you know you’ve arrived, folks.
smb_58

If we’re okay with getting real for a moment, I got goosebumps at this scene.smb_59 smb_60

“Where did she come from?”

Where did she go?

Where did she come from?smb_61

*cough* Cotton Eye Joe?smb_62

“Mary Poppins and the Banks are like family to me.”smb_63

“Mary Poppins was a real person?”smb_64

#Excuse you peasantsmb_65

Apparently not too far beyond them, what with this story existing in a modern language and all. That’s okay, Ima let it happen.
smb_66

“So it’s not the children she comes to save. It’s their father.smb_67

Your father.”smb_68

“You don’t know what she means to me.”smb_69

“I won’t disappoint you. I swear, every time a person walks into a movie house, they will rejoice.

*raises hand* I can attest to this.smb_70

 Don’t you want to finish the story?”
smb_71smb_72smb_73

Great googly moogly. This movie looks fantastic, but the breakdown is really robbing the trailer of the joys of its soundtrack. Just imagine swelling delightful music that makes you feel sentimental and inspired to climb a mountain at the same time.
smb_74

“The boys have come up with an idea that’s gonna make you happy.”

More stuffed Mickeys, I hope.smb_75

“You didn’t bring me all the way here to tell me that.”

“Oh no, I had a wager I couldn’t get you on a ride. I just won twenty bucks.”smb_76

Because even Disney needs twenty bucks every now and then. Keep moving forward, I suppose.

And I hope there’s a sequel where the girl on Disney’s right gets her much-needed attitude adjustment as well.

10 Responses to “Trailer Breakdown for Saving Mr. Banks”

  1. Wasp December 4, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    Okay… we’re gonna go through this one step at a time:
    1- “Hopped off the plane at LAX…” my thoughts exactly. As in, I literally thought that when I saw this. (:
    2- Also… Tom Hanks as Disney… perfection. And I know… I wanted to give him a hug too (;
    3- That scene… that perfect scene. I already cried… several times… but thanks anyway.
    4- I’d just like to take a moment in this comment and give a little shout-out to every single nostalgic Walt Disney shot in this trailer.

    Overall… thanks for making my night (: You’re the best… and we should go see it. We should definitely go see it.

    • Emory December 5, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      1. *GASP* you like turtles? I like turtles too! What is HAPPening here? 😉 Great minds, dear.
      2. Right? He’s fabulous.
      3. akdsjf;a;dkfja
      4. I think that’s in order. *removes hat*
      Good plan! Viewing party!

  2. HBubbles December 5, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    You have summed up my reasons for loving this exactly. Gotta love the sassy running commentary I’m suddenly glad to not be alone in developing through a trailer. And while this move was already on the list, thank you for the idea of actually writing out a list of reasons to be happy about Christmas. I need it this holiday season.
    Merry (early) Christmas!

    • Emory December 5, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

      Heyy, thank you and merry Christmas to you as well, love! I hope your Christmas season is full of sparkly lights and fandom references and joy and love and Jesus. 🙂

  3. Shahrazad December 5, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Mrs. Travers, are you insane in not wanting Dick van Dyke to be in practically every movie that has ever existed?

    That’s really my only complaint. Otherwise, I’m looking forward to Saving Mr. Banks.

    • Emory December 5, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      And all the people said amen. Dick Van Dyke should be in ALL the things.

  4. Wendy December 5, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

    In which Ryan Howard the intern writes songs with made-up words…just saying…

    • Emory December 5, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      THANK YOU.
      And then Kelly Kapoor bursts in ten seconds later squealing about how she just got a job as Disney’s assistant so they could be together.
      Yes? Yes?

      • Wendy December 6, 2013 at 10:22 am #

        YES. YES.
        And then in the sequel we find him in a bowling alley with some ridiculously bleached hair…
        Yes?

      • Emory December 6, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

        *standing ovation*

Leave a Reply

