Trailer Breakdown for Sherlock Season 3

9 Dec

Yesterday, the illustrious British Broadcasting Corporation released the first proper official Sherlock season 3 trailer that wasn’t two and a half seconds long, and the internet rejoiced at the good nature of the gift-giver. But if that was not enough (and it never really is), BBC decided to grace us with a series of clips as well, exclusive clips all making up the “interactive trailer” that BBC thought we deserved after two years.

And the BBC saw that it was good.

I think you will too.
sher_1

It’s like some sort of disclaimer.

“You may suffer from emotional trauma as a result of the following programme and/or as a result of its hiatus.”
sher_2

“SHERLOCK!”

Like this guy, for example.
sher_3

“I don’t care how you faked it,

Really, mournstache John? You’re not even a little bit curious?

sher_4

sher_5

I want to know why.”

Yeah, um no, Sherlock, John does not speak for all of us. We want to know how, and hey, it having been two years and all, we want to know pronto. ASAP. LOL.

sher_6

“The one person he thought didn’t matter at all to me turned out to be the person that mattered the most.”

Molly? Are you talking about Molly? I always feel so informed after I speak to you.sher_7

Three cheers for the Molly smirk none of us have seen yet. sher_8

#Not Your Housekeepersher_9

Good heavens, unwanted facial hair for everyone. Mourning does strange things to people.sher_10

“I pick-pocket him when he’s annoying.”sher_11

It all looks so official until you start to think that chair in front of the desk looks like a poolside recliner.
sher_12

In the trailer, this shot lasts about seven years, so for the full breakdown effect, you may want to stop scrolling until 2020 (you’ll have at least one more season of Sherlock by that time too – win-win).
sher_13

“I think I’ll surprise John.
sher_14

Go down to Baker Street, who knows, jump out of a cake.”

And the entire Sherlock fan art community said in unison, “ON IT.”sher_15

“Baker Street? He  isn’t there anymore. It’s been two years. He’s got on with his life.”sher_16

“What life? I’ve been away.”

Oh right. There’s the Sherlock we all know and feel a little bit bad about loving.sher_17sher_18

*Screaming*

*Like really a lot of very close-shot screaming*

I’m not really sure if this is the response of Mrs. Hudson to seeing Sherlock again, or a portrait of the fandom’s response to seeing Sherlock again.sher_19

Eye. Because reasons.
sher_20

Ah, well, of course. No Holmes adaption would really be accepted if it had no magnifying glass featured.sher_21

You can’t giggle, it’s a crime scene.
sher_22

Mycroft:

“The terror alert has been raised to critical.”

Mary Morstan responds to terror by riding around town with her husband’s dead best friend.

Because he doesn’t have weird facial hair.
sher_23

“Welcome to my world.”sher_24

“An attack is coming.”sher_25

In the form of a subway? There it is again, fictional characters and subways. *sulks*sher_26

So far, Sherlock season 3 promises to be full of obligatory close-ups of Cumberbatch cheekbones.sher_27

“I need to get to know London again. Breathe it in.
sher_28Every quiver of its beating heart.”

And now, the weather.

Sherlock, Season 3. It’s so close you can smell it.

And all 243 types of its tobacco ash.

20 Responses to “Trailer Breakdown for Sherlock Season 3”

  1. HBubbles December 9, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    GAH. CAN’T WAIT. 21 DAYS. IT’S TOO CLOSE.
    So, notes: excellent scattered fandom references throughout.
    Also, I’ll get to work on that subway.
    And, last and least, sorry to burst your bubble but it’s Mary on the motorcycle with Sherlock. 😦 Setlock photos confirm coat and motorcycle with the two of them. Sorry.
    But yay! Sherlock!

    • Emory December 9, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

      Updated! Thanks for the heads-up, dearest! And it’s okay, my bubble is mostly imaginary anyway!
      🙂
      (And please DO get to work on that subway)

      • HBubbles December 13, 2013 at 9:29 am #

        You earned a very loud and involuntary “Hah!” with your update. Bless.
        (Subway entrances are now popping up all over town! Not that there any records of ever creating a subway system, or getting one approved, or even discussing one.)

      • Emory December 13, 2013 at 9:46 am #

        I’ve just received word via a sign written in a red substance hung around the shoulders of a dead-eyed child that a new subway has been installed not two miles from my home.
        Thank you, HBubbles.

        By the way, do you want a child? This one’s not leaving.

      • HBubbles December 13, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

        I would! But… Oh. Nevermind. He seems to have wandered off.

  2. Emily C. December 9, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    Eeeee! ;D ;D I was -wondering- when I’d hear some Sherlock-exclamations from you! Ha. They’ve been teasing us enough with the amazing photos and new blogs (!!) from John…. an actual ….trailer? Color most of us thudded. ;P
    I think I loved the bit between brothers the most. Just the banter that was more amicable that they seemed before, the hint of a bigger problem…. yet….. Sherlock being the same old way he was in the beginning! Naively arrogant (maybe naturally so, maybe not wanting to believe his friends had moved on from him…aww), but… yet… surely he realized people had shifted. And when he tries to get back in his old life… oi… that’s what I’m looking forward to….

    • Emory December 11, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

      I like the part with the Holmes bros as well! I like to see them NOT exchanging threats and insults, it makes me a happy little human. And I was a little surprised that Sherlock hadn’t kept tabs on his friends while away. I wonder what he was doing for two years?

      • Emily C. December 11, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

        Yes!! I know!! Figured he’d be away away (tearing down underground threats and such), but still use network to check in. Unless he thought that would be too risky, too…
        But how’d you like the blog posts, as well? 🙂

      • Emory December 12, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

        Mmmm, I quite enjoyed it! Very nice surprise too, since I had forgotten he ran an actual blog! 🙂 At first I thought it a bit unlikely that he would do a post like that, but then I thought, if he’s just now accepting Sherlock’s death, then it sort of follows that he’d do a farewell post.

  3. Kristy Daum December 11, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

    YAY!!! I think I’ve watched that trailer like 50+ times, trying to see if I miss anything. Definitely looking forward to it’s brief; but glorious return to TV.

    • Emory December 11, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

      Mm, yes, I am with you, sister! It’s gonna be lovely!

  4. Kire December 11, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    I literally sounded like a chicken after I watched the trailer because I was so happy.

    • Emory December 11, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

      I understand. I sounded like a malfunctioning smoke alarm.

      • Kire December 11, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

        Too bad we weren’t sitting in the same room at the same time. I bet that would have been a strange and wonderful noise.

      • Emory December 11, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

        Amen. Why aren’t we sitting in the same room right now? Get over here, love.

      • Kire December 15, 2013 at 10:18 am #

        OKAAAAAAY!!!

      • Emily C. December 11, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

        Eeee! And another smoke alarm! ;D
        (we could have harmonized)

      • Emory December 12, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

        Hahaha! It would have been the most beautiful music!

  5. Shahrazad December 11, 2013 at 6:13 pm #

    It’s the little things that make you realize you’re a fangirl no matter how many times you might deny it. I’m afraid Mrs. Hudson and I had very similar reactions.

    By the bye, I can’t help but think that Mrs. Hudson and her frying pan would make an interesting twist in the show. Has anyone realized what a good weapon a frying pan makes?

    • Emory December 11, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

      Ah yes, I believe I’ve seen Tangled/LOTR enough times, that I realize. Frying pans! Who knew, right? I do find myself hoping for a kitchen weapon confrontation with Mrs. Hudson for some reason.

Leave a Reply

