Trailer Breakdown for The Maze Runner

18 Mar

You’ve noticed, I’m sure, the signs of the new season. Spring, when one’s thoughts turn toward YA novel-to-movie adaptions. In honor of the occasion, 20th Century Fox has released the the official trailer for the Maze Runner. You’re very, very welcome, they say in soothing tones to the crazed, trilogy-wielding teenagers outside their building.

Please, friends, enjoy the trailer, and then join me in trying very hard not to scream about this trailer in public.

*rickety elevator sounds*
mr_1mr_3mr_4

Aw. It’s like being born, but more fully-dressed and more people judging you for being alive.mr_5

But just as sweaty and confused, I think.
mr_6

“Day one, Greenie. Rise and shine.”

There was a boy called Eustace Scrubb Gally, and he almost deserved it.mr_7

“What is this place?”

What is This Place, the new album from Thomas of the Glade. Featuring the hit single, “Why Is Everyone Here So Obsessed with the Words ‘Klunk’ and ‘Shuck’?” mr_8

“Can you tell me your name?”

“I – I can’t remember anything.”

Between YA novels and the Bourne movies, I feel like memory loss is the best thing that could happen to my personal story arc.mr_9

Aw, what a peaceful little community. As far as freaky post-apocalyptic futures go, this one is rather nice.mr_10

“Who put us here?”

 Alby’s name is a little bolder than everyone else’s name. I’m going to believe that he deepened it a few minutes before Thomas popped out of the box for the streamlining of the Glade tour. He does look pretty proud of it.mr_11

Dystopian Boy band shot. I approve. Nothing seems inherently bad about this place so far.
mr_12

“We don’t know.”

And yet you seem pretty chill about the whole thing. It’s whatever. Our lives are just kind of shrouded in mystery and a sense of evil.mr_13

“What’s out there?”
mr_15mr_16

“The Maze.”

“Newt! I know what we’re gonna do today!”

It is wonderful to see you here, Thomas Brodie-Sangster, and especially with more than one line per twenty minutes (hopefully).

mr_17

Aw man, beautiful set design. Love me some ominous clouds. The place is seeming a little less friendly.mr_18

“Every night, when those doors open,mr_19

“The runners look for a way out.mr_20

Well, that’s certainly a spiffier-looking map than I imagined it to be. But then again, I imagined the Hunger Games cornucopia as woven out of straw, so maybe I shouldn’t talk.mr_21

mr_22

“No one has ever survived a night in the maze.”mr_23

[more visible in actual trailer]

[however, still visible enough for me to realize that my imagined version of Grievers, one that looked like Roz from Monster’s Inc., was very, very wrong]

[But again, I’m apparently not very good at this visualization thing]mr_24

“What happens to them?”

If you’ve noticed that exactly 100% of the things Thomas has said so far have been referring to his utter ignorance of everything, then you can feel sure that he is portraying his literary counterpart correctly. And all of the readers, for that matter.mr_25

Confused? Good. Settle in for two hours of the emotion known as “wut.”

In related news, it took me three years to even get a shot this bad.
mr_26

-by James Dashner-mr_27

“We don’t belong here.”mr_28

Is that supposed to be a Beetle blade? I pictured that rather differently. It was totally woven out of straw in my imagination
mr_29

“No, that is not slime. You are secreting mucus!”mr_30

“I think it’s time we find out who we’re really up against.”mr_31mr_32

This looks like the Incredibles.mr_33

This really looks like the Incredibles.mr_35

“Everything started changing the moment you showed up.”

Shut up, Eustace. You’re not exactly the best with change.mr_36

Let me guess. Four-movie saga for three books? *flips table* mr_37mr_38

“It’s a girl.”

And the oscar for best facial expression goes to Ferb Fletcher.mr_39

And while we’re on the subject, I would like to direct your attention to how the faces from left to right are a brilliant scale from “NOPE” to “about bloody time.”
mr_40

“Thomas!”mr_41mr_42

“Oh my gosh, Teresa, not in front of my friends.”
mr_43I see you driving ’round town with the girl I love, and I’m like –

(Read it again in a whisper, to a twisted version of the original tune. Experience enhanced by ten points.)

mr_44

That’s a very clean skull. Do they have a taxidermist class in the Glade, or have they been saving it for years for this occasion?
mr_45

“Why are we different?”mr_46

“What if we were sent here for a reason?”

Okay, so all the new kids speak in a series of questions that people are tired of answering.
mr_47

And anyway, if no one else is going to sing “baby, we were born to run” I am only too happy to volunteer.mr_48mr_49

“You’re not like the others,mr_50

“You’re curious.mr_53

Like, “curiosity killed the cat” curious, or like “you’re a freak” curious?mr_54

I’m gonna put you down for “both.”
mr_55

“But if you want to stay here,mr_56

“Not yet, Ferb.”mr_57

-Scene added for glorious hair-wooshing-mr_59

“I need to know that you’re going to follow the rules.”mr_60

“lol yolo”mr_61

Newt and Gally need to get together and even out their reactions a little bit.
mr_62

Oh, look. Claustrophobia. Haha, excuse me for a moment.

*has panic attack*
mr_63

*has separate panic attack but in a good way*
mr_64

“Coming soon”? That is the worst thing you could say. Try August 13th.

That’s almost soon! I feel like someone should give a pep talk or something. Okay, here you go: Be careful. Don’t die.

(Who am I kidding)

14 Responses to “Trailer Breakdown for The Maze Runner”

  1. Mockingbird March 18, 2014 at 11:41 am #

    OMIGOSHOMIGOSHOMIGOSH
    Turns out our visualizations are just about the same…I didn’t realize that was a beetle blade either 😐
    But NEWT. NEWT!!!! I am BEYOND excited for this, like it’s not even COOL.
    I need a blanket, I think.

    • Emory March 18, 2014 at 11:45 am #

      *tosses blanket around your shoulder*
      I KNOW I’m so excited for Newt! He is beyond fabulous! He was more likable than Thomas, I thought. But heeyyy I’m excited for everyone. 🙂
      And that might not be a beetle blade, I guess – I just saw the WCKD inscription and I stabbed in the dark a bit.
      I’m a leetle bit stoked about this movie!

      • Mockingbird March 18, 2014 at 11:51 am #

        Just a bit…
        No, beetle blade sounds about right…
        NEWWWWTTT
        Love, have you read the rest of the trilogy yet?

      • Emory March 18, 2014 at 11:56 am #

        No. No, shame on me, but no, just the first so far. I mean to, though.

  2. HBubbles March 18, 2014 at 1:07 pm #

    Ridiculously excited and laughing too hard to care about the wait.

    • Emory March 18, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

      Thanks ever so much! That was my goal(: And it’s only five months, in the grand scheme of things, pretty short wait.

  3. rawkstar48 March 18, 2014 at 4:01 pm #

    So….I’m freaking stoked. Also, Minho’s my boy. He’s super cool and I feel like I’ve known him forever from tons of youtube videos. Also, I feel like the casting is pretty spot on for this movie which makes me warm and happy inside. So I wasn’t the only one who pictured the grievers looking like Roz? Sooo stoked!!

    • Emory March 19, 2014 at 11:34 am #

      THANKYOUFORSHARINGMYROZDELUSION
      You’re so excellent. 🙂 And right, the casting is magnificent!

  4. Kire March 19, 2014 at 7:54 am #

    1. I dot think any other breakdown could EVER be as funny as yours! I literally laughed out loud. (If you don’t believe me, just ask my family.)

    2. IT LOOKS SO GOOD!

    3. I promise not to watch it until I read the book. I actually have a lot of books to read. I have The Book Thief, Ender’s Game, and now the Maze Runner… SO MANY BOOKS, SO LITTLE TIME!

    • Emory March 19, 2014 at 11:36 am #

      1. You are the darlingest darling to darling.
      2. Right?
      3. Aw, good for you! I respect that! And Ender’s Game and the Book Thief – super good books. So well-written. Second one made me cry. At work. Not ideal, but still great. 🙂

  5. Sherlock March 20, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

    Hunger Games, Ender’s Games, Maze Runner Games-
    Can we just have a book/movie entitled GAME and it be all about teenagers who like to kill each other?
    Classic.

    • Emory March 20, 2014 at 1:20 pm #

      Definitely a theme. But I fail to find a “games” in Maze Runner?

      • Sherlock March 26, 2014 at 5:06 pm #

        Whatever. Slight detail.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Review: The Maze Runner | For The Win - April 16, 2014

    […] read The Maze Runner because a) of my dear friend, River Song’s, blog post and b) because I don’t watch a movie without reading the book […]

Leave a Reply

