Let’s Talk About Captain America: The Winter Soldier

4 Apr

First, though, as a matter of course, we have to discuss how you should in no way be here if you haven’t seen the movie yet; that, however, is of secondary importance compared to the fact that you are sitting here, wasting time on the internet (of all places), when you could be wasting time watching Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

Come on. Where are your priorities?

Back to the matter at hand. If you’ve continued this far, you’ve seen the movie. So let’s talk.

Let’s talk about how this movie did the truly impossible thing and made me want to take up jogging. For at least three minutes. With Sam Wilson. On your left.

Let’s talk about,

“I have the exact same glasses.”

“You guys are practically twins.”

“Pff. I WISH.” 

Let’s talk about Natasha and Steve being one of my favorite on-screen brolationships to ever bro. And, obviously, we just have to talk about how “Public displays of affection make people very uncomfortable.”

“Yes, they do.”

Unfortunately, talking about it is easier said than done, as most things tend to be. I found that a lot of the emotions induced during the course of this movie aren’t of the efficiently explainable variety.

For example, instead of saying, “When Abed (Danny Pudi) made his cameo, I felt such an emotion that I felt as though my brain went completely offline as I gasped like someone drowning and smiled so largely that I gave myself the laughter lines of a ninety-year-old woman,” it would be much easier for me to simply go –  “ABED”

or “DR. ARNIM ZOLA”

or “I’M SORRY SITWELL, DID YOU JUST SAY ‘STEPHEN STRANGE’?”

Seriously though.

or “I’M WITH YOU ‘TIL THE END OF THE LINE.”

I really do want to talk about that. Steve is known for never giving up in what he believes in, and he believes in his best friend Bucky – it was the only thing he could do for him.

“Not a perfect soldier, but a good man” has rarely been better displayed than it was in this superlatively well-made film, and it is one of the things that makes this movie so worth seeing, so worth talking about, and so very, very worth flailing about in your theater seat, disturbing the general peace, and very nearly jumping into your sister’s arms screaming during the post-credit scenes (this is a great way to bond, by the way).

Because you’ll wait for those scenes, right? Both of them?

Don’t you dare let me down.

Speaking of which, that’s the final thing that needs to be discussed here.

Know what? I want you to be there with me. Let me just take you on a little tour of my cozy corner of the theater last night, during the first post-credit scene.

*Men speak ominously in laboratory-like chambers*

*Ill-intentioned men speak of activating the twins*

*Camera pans to adjacent prison cells, one containing Wanda Maximoff and the other, her brother Pietro*

*Three years pass*

// So can we please talk about this movie?

11 Responses to “Let’s Talk About Captain America: The Winter Soldier”

  1. Mockingbird April 4, 2014 at 8:01 pm #

    Yes. Just, yes.

  2. sassclasssmartass April 4, 2014 at 9:36 pm #

    Not to mention the inclusion of Sharon Carter, Peggy’s niece who happens to get like almost engaged to Steve (in 616 anyway)… I’m really excited to see what Marvel will do with Strange and how it will transcend the “death” of Fury and compromisation of SHIELD into Agents of SHIELD

    • Emory April 8, 2014 at 4:17 pm #

      I know, right? I had been suspecting it was Sharon, but when they said her name, I let out the most annoying “YUSS” just as the girl next to me groaned angrily. Always fun to find the harbingers of the comic storylines. 🙂 And you’re very right, Agents of SHIELD is definitely going to get complicated soon.

  3. HBubbles April 5, 2014 at 2:10 am #

    *replies with the song of my people: flailing screams*
    Yep, yep, and yep. To everything. All of it.
    BUT C’MON HOW CAN YOU NOT MENTION BARON ZEMO. I MEAN. UM.
    And obviously since they have the twins they’re tying this in to Avengers 2 already which means somehow Hydra and the spear are going to be connected to Ultron. I mean. Dude. MIND = BLOWN.

    But seriously. Your reaction was mine as well. Way. Too. Excited.

    • Emory April 8, 2014 at 4:19 pm #

      *joins in flailing*
      Baron Zemo would be so interesting in the Cinematic Universe! How cool would that be? Auuurgh
      and the TWINS
      *explodes*
      I am freaking out about Age of Ultron, man.

  4. Kire April 7, 2014 at 2:09 pm #

    1. I too flailed my arms and silently screamed and I got so into it that my shoes ended up off my feet while I was curled up in my chair. I’m pretty sure I looked like a messed up pretzel.

    2. Your gifs though. *thumbs up*

    3. QUESTION FROM THE NERD WHO HASN’T ACTUALLY READ A LOT OF COMICS!! If the twins are being raised by your friendly underground Hydra, are they going to be against the Avengers? Or are they just like, “Whateva, Hydra. You can’t do nothing about it. I’m joining the Avengers”?

    • Emory April 8, 2014 at 4:24 pm #

      1. ME TOO we managed to watch a movie in the exact same position several miles apart. High five!
      2. D’awww
      3. In the comics, Pietro and Wanda are a little bit cray-cray (to say the least). Pietro does crazy things mainly to protect Wanda, and Wanda is just good old-fashioned crazy (for most of her timeline). They started out good-but-misled, then went good (joined the Avengers), then went bad, then almost good again – so that’s probably how it will kind of go in the movies? Maybe. But in the comics, it was Magneto who had them under his evil thumb. I’m happy to see Hydra in that role, though. It still works fine.

      • Kire April 10, 2014 at 3:32 pm #

        1. Are you sure we aren’t related?
        3. Oooooooh! Got it. Okay, okay. Thank you for explaining! 🙂

  5. Jennifer Hilty December 10, 2014 at 12:22 pm #

    SO I JUST SAW THIS MOVIE FOR THE THIRD TIME LAST NIGHT

    SAW IT TWICE IN THEATRES I DON’T DO THAT SUPER OFTEN BUT TO BE FAIR IT WAS ON THE CHEAPSEATS THE SECOND TIME

    And OH LOOK HERE’S AN OPPORTUNITY TO TALK WITH SOMEONE ABOUT STEVE

    STEVE ROGERS IS BEST AVENGER

    ALL THE BROSHIPS WITH STEVE AND ROGER AND NATASHA OH AND LET’S NOT FORGET BUCKY

    ALL THE LOVE FOR THE NICEST DANG GUY ON THE TEAM

    Who by the way was totally worthy and clearly just trying to hide it so as not to hurt Thor’s feelings. (You know EXACTLY what I am talking about.)

    Favorite avenger, favorite avenger, favorite avengeeeeer….and this is even though I technically thought Hawkeye was the hot one (and I NEVER SAY THAT) with his awesome outfit and his awesome bow but no STEVE ROGERS IS FAVORITE AVENGER BECAUSE DOGGONIT HE WINS AT BEING THE BEST GUY EVER

    And yes I did see both secret endings, and I made SURE my siblings saw them as well by fast-forwarding through the credits. Buckyyyyy……..*writhes internally with empathy/angst*

    There, I think that’s enough venting of fangirlism excitement for now. You have to take these opportunities when they come, since all those people you rant to in the real world tend to look at you in confusion and the barely-layered question of if you are truly insane. But that’s okay, they’ll come around eventually.

    • Emory December 12, 2014 at 9:49 am #

      YES I KNOW EXACTLY WHAT YOU WERE TALKING ABOUT HE WAS HALFWAY TOSSING THAT HAMMER AROUND THE ROOM POOR HUMBLE BOY
      But yeahhhh, Cap is kind of the best (although Hawkeye is a close second for me – love that kid). I saw the movie twice in theaters too! 😀 Ahahaha, it’s just so hard to STOP

Leave a Reply

