Trailer Breakdown for Big Hero 6

16 Jul

Prepare yourself for the next production from the absolute darlings who brought you Wreck-It Ralph and Frozen. That’s right, and just in time for you to stop hating  Disney for forcing everyone and their grandmother to sing “Let it Go” every hour of the day!

If you’ve been following any sort of entertainment news, you are likely to be aware that along with Star Wars, your soul, and the better part of the internet, Disney now owns Marvel. Whether this news has you happy or the other thing, your heart is definitely three sizes too small if you didn’t find some joy in the Big Hero 6 full-length trailer that just came out yesterday.

bh_1

bh_2

“All right, let me get this straight…

San Fransokyo? Is that near San Franjose? I want a Cloudy with a Chance of Meet-ups.bh_3

“A man in a Kabuki mask attacked you with an army of miniature flying robots.”

*Googles “Kabuki”*

*Feels cultured*
bh_4

“Microbots!

Ohhh, microbots. Thank you, Hiro, see, the other thing was unbelievable.bh_5

“Max, tell him!”

“Yes, Officer.”

Good enough for me.bh_6

Uh-oh. That bad boy is backlit. A sure sign of being irretrievably evil.
bh_7

Look at Hiro’s face. He knows the ins and outs of cinematic lighting.bh_8

“Microbots.”

If you’re still typing that, we got a whole other problem.

“Yeah,bh_9

“He was controlling them telepathically with a neuro-cranial transmitter!”bh_10

Doesn’t matter to this guy.bh_11

Is it wrong that I want an opera number here? Some kind of “Down Once More Into Darkness” episode? I think I’m onto something.bh_12

“Come on!”bh_13

“I am not fast.”

“Yeah, no kidding! Go, go, go, go!”

See also: Me and anyone who tries to get me to go anywhere
bh_15

“So Mr. Kabuki was using ESP to attack you and…bh_16

“Balloon man…”

No comment on that? What sort of trash happens in San Fransokyo that leads you to look bored at the domesticated Stay Puft Marshmallow Man?

bh_17bh_18

Mmm. Oh, and reader, that strange, warm feeling bubbling up inside you? It’s the desire to hug an animator. And it’s totally normal.
bh_19bh_20

That face. That is the face of a man who has seen some seriously screwed-up stuff.

Tell us your secrets
bh_21

“I know it sounds crazy.”bh_22

“Kid, how about we call your parents and get them down here.

Whoa whoa, sore subject man. Haven’t you heard any superhero story ever? Insensitive.bh_23

“Write your name and number down on this piece of paper and we’ll -“bh_24

(My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark plays)

(Consequently, everyone watching gets up and parties)bh_25

“We gotta catch that guy. But first –bh_26bh_27

♪You want me to change, change, change, you want me to change♫bh_28

“You’re gonna need some upgrades.”bh_29

♪Girl you’re amazing just the way you are♫
bh_30bh_31

For a boy genius, he’s a little slow on the whole distribution of mass concept. Why don’t mysterious balloon robots drop into my lap? It’s because both my parents are so alive, isn’t it?

bh_32

bh_33

So this is present-day/near future How to Train Your Dragon right? Or, actually, How to Train Your Robot? No judgement meant, I am more than okay with that.
bh_35bh_36

“Did I not instruct that box 5 was to be left empty?”
bh_37bh_38

“A lunatic in a mask just tried to kill us.”

In this movie adaption, original comic fans will be surprised to know that Go-Go Tomago’s code name is now “Captain Obvious.” And we don’t really get to see him, but the driver of this bus is so over this movie already.

bh_39

“How cool is that! I mean, it’s scary, obviously, but how cool!”

Tuffnut, it’s not like this is new to you. And yes, we know it’s you, take off that beanie and put your Viking helmet back on.bh_41

I love it when Disney does that.bh_42

Aw man. Usually when I see a character so obviously prepped for merchandising I get a little cringey inside, but Baymax.. Look at him. Just look.

I want seven of him.bh_43

“What’s wrong with you?”

“LooOOw battery,”
bh_44

“You home, sweetie?”bh_45

“Weee jumped out a wiindow!”bh_46

“Who is that?”

bh_47

“We jumped out a windooow.”

Nice save.bh_48

Yasssbh_50

“Shhh”bh_51bh_52

Hey, hey. You nailed it, baby.bh_53

Fall! Get it? Fall! *laughs into the sunset*bh_49“Fuuurry baby!”

*eyes widen*

The word cat is obsolete and I could not be happier.

Fall movies! Bring it on. I’m jumping up and down about this movie, but I can’t shake the feeling that Big Hero 6 is leaving a gold mine buried up by not exploring the (clearly) tragic backstory of iron policeman there at the beginning. (I’m calling it now: Big Hero 7. Look for it 2017.)

8 Responses to “Trailer Breakdown for Big Hero 6”

  1. Mockingbird July 16, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

    I LOVE IT SO.
    Bring on the continuously nerdy children’s movies, Disney…

    • Emory July 16, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

      AMEN, let it be so.

  2. Merrilee G Lewis July 16, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

    This Grandma LOVES to sing Let it go, thank you very much!!!! But sure am looking forward to this one!! Great review 🙂

  3. Bee Peterson July 16, 2014 at 8:01 pm #

    I need to see this with you guys

  4. Wasp July 16, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

    OOoooo yaaayyyy!!! I’m sooooo exciiiiited!!!!!!!!!! Lovely review dahling (:

  5. Kire July 18, 2014 at 9:01 am #

    I have come to discover that I definitely need a marshmallow balloon robot. I have also come to discover that I am way more excited about this movie than I thought I was.

    • Emory July 18, 2014 at 9:33 am #

      Yaaay! I give my full support to both of your realizations! I’m so excited! Even if doesn’t live up to my pretty high expectations, it looks absolutely gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

