Changing of the Seasons

18 Aug

Everyone loves fall. It’s comfortable, fuzzy, and just the right amount of predictable.

There’s always warm drinks being served, long pants are embraced, and every conversation for the next three months will yield at least one confession of “you know, maybe I’m crazy, but I actually think I like fall most. Is that just me?”

(We’ve all been that person. Next time someone says it to you, resist the urge to slap them with a scented pine cone and instead just give them a quizzical look. )

I mean, just look at this awesome setup we have going for this magnificent new season! I’ve tweaked it with just enough regular things to be slipped into a conversation or a cutesy illustrated list of “fave fall things”

  • Pumpkin pie-flavored everything
  • Changing colors on the trees
  • Doctor Who materializes August 23rd. Agents of SHIELD hits back on September 23rd, and its queen Agent Carter will show her face during a mid-season SHIELD hiatus. Once Upon a Time is back September 28th. Gravity Falls races on from its original Season 2 premiere this September 8th. Arrow is coming October 8th and the CW’s Flash premieres just before then (appropriately enough) on the 7th. Sherlock is a joke.
  • Hot chocolate
  • Extra blankets on the bed

Ahh, yes.

Don’t ever underestimate the glory of new seasons.

And yeah, I’m only half-talking about the seasons of the year.

Summer is unofficially the season of weird TV movies you wish you’d never heard about.

There’s other things to do during the summer, I get it. That’s not the problem. Summer is absolutely the time to get outside, go camping, picnicking, whatever – to enjoy the weather, of course. But summer also allows for that one precious commodity that people with school crave the most.

Time free from responsibilities.

The best.

With such long-sought free time, it’s not unusual to turn to television to unwind.

And in turn, it’s not unusual for summer television to respond,

“Do you want a Hallmark movie about memory loss, or a comedy about unhappy married couples yelling at each other’s in-laws?” *badly-timed laugh track rolls*

Yes my friends, the time has come for us to exit this particularly uncomfortable waiting room.

Feels good, like a cool breeze.

You know, fall is probably my favorite. Is that just me?

13 Responses to “Changing of the Seasons”

  1. Cassandra Rebecca August 18, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

    *brandishes appropriately flavored dessert*
    Let us rejoicify at the return of intelligent television…
    (Yay! Grass! ^.^)
    I’m not entirely certain we’re fooling anyone.

    • Emory August 19, 2014 at 1:25 pm #

      We’re still fooling me. Don’t you dare try to disillusion me.
      *breaks out smile dip*
      NOW LET’S REJOICIFY

  2. Merrilee G Lewis August 19, 2014 at 9:21 am #

    I LOVE FALL!!

  3. Wasp August 19, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

    So now I’m even more excited for fall… thanks(: And let’s not forget OSF 2014!!! (SQUEEEE)

    • Emory August 19, 2014 at 1:25 pm #

      OHMAN I CANNOT ACTUALLY CONTAIN MYSELF AAAAAAAAA

  4. Shahrazad August 20, 2014 at 10:54 am #

    *Quizzical look*

    • Emory August 20, 2014 at 11:42 am #

      Received and respected.

  5. Emily C. August 22, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

    Hee!! Grinning once again at cutely silly geekery wisdom. So true. I’ll be honest and say I’m not as crazy when the realization sets in that summer’s nearly gone (means warmth and a quiet break from all the usual town/entertainment activity, to relax and catch up on other stuff)… but… can’t deny being ‘yay’ at the (better) shows coming back!! 🙂 *runs off to buy fish fingers and custards in excitement at one day left*

    • Emory August 25, 2014 at 8:39 am #

      Summer will indeed be missed, but I happily trade her for three cups of hot cocoa a day. and also yeah
      there’s that
      *small* matter of
      DOCTOR WHO LIKE OHMYGOSH DID YOU SEE IT YET OHMANOHMAN

  6. Kire August 24, 2014 at 1:13 pm #

  7. Sherlock September 3, 2014 at 10:38 am #

    I’ve always thought of Fall as the death of all good things.
    I leave now to lock myself up in a dark closet, with only pumpkin muffins to sustain me.
    SH

    • Emory September 3, 2014 at 12:07 pm #

      I don’t know, Sherlock, you have just described a really good afternoon.

Leave a Reply

