Trailer Breakdown for Inside Out

10 Dec

Today, Disney-Pixar presented the general public with a glorious gift, one that I had almost feared would never arrive – an official Inside Out trailer that was not just a commercial for Disney Pixar studios at large. Don’t get me wrong, I got misty watching that early teaser, but it didn’t do much for the movie it was pretending to market.

Unlike this one, of course. Treat yourself.

One little tip for watching this trailer: it’s fine by itself, sure. But when a trailer is as dialogue-heavy, food-chewing-heavy, and music score-light as this one, sometimes, you have to add your own soundtrack.

This bad boy syncs perfectly with the subject matter, play it while watching the preview on mute you’re welcome
io_1

*uncomfortable chewing noises and now you know why I wanted music*io_2

“So, how was the first day of school?”
io_3

“It was fine, I guess. I don’t know.”

Is this your first time being angsty and secretive? It’s okay honey, you’ll get better at it. It just takes time and bitterness.io_4

Voiceover: “Do you ever look at someone and wonder, ‘what is going on inside their head?'”io_5

Doo wee oooooo EEEE oooooio_6

“Did you guys pick up on that?”

“Mhm, mhm.”

“Something’s wrong.”

I have never before thought of this range of emotions as adorable. This is a whole new frontier of cute.
io_8

“We’re gonna find out what’s happening. But we need support. Signal the husband.”

Sadness is running this woman’s show? That makes me sad. Wait. Wait what are your glasses connected to this is making me uncomfortableio_9

“Ahem.”io_10 io_11

Okay but am I seriously the only one waiting for some flying text to come out and say “starring David Tennant”io_12

MUSTACHIOED EMOTIONS

what a time to be alive

io_13

whaaaaaat come on guys you could do better.io_14

“AHEM”

io_15

A wild wife appears!io_16

“Uh-oh. She’s looking at us.”

I know that feel, bro.

io_18

“What did she say?”

“Oh, uh, sorry sir, no one was listening.”

STOP IMMEDIATELY. I WAS HOPING TO BE ANNOYED WITH HIS STEREOTYPING; I DID NOT WANT TO IDENTIFY SO STRONGLY WITH HIM.
io_19

“Is it garbage night? We left the toilet seat up. What? What is it, woman, what?”

io_20

“Signal him again.”

Even her emotions have to have coffee. You poor baby, let me hold you.io_21

Aw man, for real buddy. You might not have been listening, but right now your daughter is eating Chinese food but still looks upset. This is serious now.io_22

Buddy.io_23

io_25

“Ah. So, Riley, how was school?”

#Naileditio_26

“Really?”

“Augh!”

“You gotta be kidding me!”io_27

“For this we gave up that Brazilian helicopter pilot?”

You what? No wonder Sadness is in charge.io_28

So is Riley the main character, or are her emotions the stars?io_29

Because, I mean, Riley herself isn’t voiced by two of the best comedy actors ever born.io_30

Mindy Kaling, you are perfect even when you don’t say anything.io_31

“School was great, all right?”io_32

“What was that?! I thought you said we were gonna ‘act casual!'”

Bill Hader, you are perfect all the time always be in every movie please.io_33

“Riley! Is everything okay?”io_34

“Uhhhhhhhgh”io_35

“Sir, she just rolled her eyes at us.”

I love how that’s the only cue he chose to pick up on. That is so telling. I’m gonna go yell about animators and filmmakers now.io_36

“All right. Make a show of force. I don’t want to have to put the foot down.”io_37

“No! Not the foot!”

*Psycho music plays*io_38

“Riley, I do not like this new attitude.”

and so misplaced, I mean, come on, Chinese food

io_39

“Oh, I’ll show you attitude, old man.”

“No. Nono breathe -“io_40

ohman visual representations of abstract concepts are so IMPORTANTio_41

“What is your problem? Just leave me alone!”

Can we talk about how her sweater has all the colors of her emotions? And how red and green are the most prominent? Can we do that?io_42

“Sir! Reporting high levels of sass!”

Hold up a minute, Dad’s disgust has been around, but he’s not looking nearly as disgusted as I would assume such an emotion should. io_43

“Take it to Defcon 2!”

Maybe this guy’s Disgust-emotion-employee is faulty? I mean, it would explain his tie decisions.io_45

“I don’t know where this disrespectful attitude came from,”

I’m more worried about where you picked up the tie, kid.io_46

“You wanna piece of this, Pops?”

Mm, yes, my emotions, as well, occasionally take on the personality of gangsters from 1940s cartoons.io_47

“Yeah, well, well-“io_48

“Prepare the foot.”io_49

“Keys to safety position!”io_50io_51

This is quite the production. I’m a little bit scared of the foot.io_52

“Ready to launch on your command, Sir!”io_53io_54

Everyone recognizes the Cold War of familial relationships.
io_55

Aaaaand nuclear.io_56

“Just shut up!”io_57

“Fire!”io_58

“That’s it! Go to your room!”

Wow.

That foot was never up very high to begin with.

io_59

io_60

“Foot is down! The foot is down!”

He’s so proud there are SIGNS
io_61

“Good job, gentlemen. That could have been a disaster.”

Turn the soccer back on, you’ve earned it.io_62

“Well that was a disaster.”

Look at Joy sitting there. She looks so under-utilized.io_64

That’s it, baby. Spread those wings.io_65

“Come. Fly with me, Gatinha!”

Fun fact for everyone out there trying to woo some ladies: no one can resist being called a kitten (but maybe try it in a different language).

io_66

Look at them. Putty. Try it today!io_67

Man, this looks so adorable I am so excited for this cutie pieio_68WHAT PUNS YES

I’m sold. Way to finish strong, kittens.

10 Responses to “Trailer Breakdown for Inside Out”

  1. Wasp December 10, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

    SO EXCITED SO FLIPPING EXCITED OH MY GOSH.
    The foot: Very anticlimactic… but forgivable. And can I just point out that fear seriously looks like Bill Hader? Because he totally does.

    • Emory December 10, 2014 at 9:59 pm #

      RIGHT THOUGH THAT’S WHAT I’M SAYIN
      Animation is such a gift, and that is saying nothing of Bill Hader, who is a dang winning lottery ticket.

      • Mockingbird December 10, 2014 at 11:27 pm #

        They somehow managed to put Bill Hader, Mindy Kaling AND Amy Poehler in the same PIXAR movie of all things. I honestly don’t know what to do with myself.

      • Emory December 11, 2014 at 8:16 am #

        Seriously the best case scenario, man.

  2. Kire December 11, 2014 at 5:44 pm #

    *SQUEALS WITH EXCITEMENT* So that’s what my brain looks like…

    • Emory December 12, 2014 at 9:46 am #

      Your brain is not, in fact, gray matter, but actually a series of adorable little head-tenants.

      • Kire December 13, 2014 at 8:35 pm #

        I like that much better.

  3. Shahrazad December 12, 2014 at 9:52 am #

    I don’t know if I have been so excited for a movie since Frozen! I’m afraid that related only too well to the mother in this scenario. (Though I don’t think I’m run by Sadness)

    • Emory December 12, 2014 at 1:54 pm #

      Yay, I’m so pleased! Doesn’t it look magnificent? Ahaha, right, some of those thought processes were a little too close to home… You just know the animators are going to be paying special attention to facial expressions and UGH it’s gonna be so beautifully done! 😀

  4. celestestranburk February 13, 2015 at 7:50 pm #

    This was great! I love your snarky commentary and now I want to watch the movie. XD

Leave a Reply

