Trailer Breakdown for Zootopia

7 Jan

Breaking from my regular trailer breakdown pattern, I have to admit this isn’t a new preview. But I’m here, and come on – it’s Disney. My true love. So we are going to press pause on this Thursday and break down this trailer. Haven’t seen the official preview already? Take a peek and hop back here (Look! my first animal-related joke of this post. What a milestone) and let’s get started.

You know, even being Disney, I was hesitant about this at first, especially with the first pseudo-trailer that explained the word “anthropomorphic” to audiences everywhere.

z1

Because I’m no fool – with a new Disney movie comes fandom. With new fandom comes cosplay. And in this case,

z2

“Zootopia.

with cosplay come fursuits. And as it always must be, with fursuits comes my long-standing fear and/or general discomfort of people in fursuits.

z3

“A gleaming city where animals of all breeds, predator and prey alike, live together in peace and harmony.”

But these guys? ?? ???? How can you not love these faces.

z5

“Hi, I’m Judy, your new neighbor!”

“Yeah? Well, we’re loud.”

“Don’t expect us to apologize for it.”

I’m already rooting so hard for Judy. I believe in her.

z6

“ZPD’s first rabbit officer, Judy Hops!”

Hops. Brilliant. Does every animal have a surname that reflects a common action of that creature? I hope this Lion cop’s last name is Maul.

z7

Look at my baby. I’m so proud.

z8

“Ready to make the world a better place?”

z9

*Chair skids away*

Yeah, I’m not tolerating this. I’m not going to let Judy take this from Mister Stomps over here. Sign my petition to protect my daughter

z10

“Bad news in this city, gripped by fear.”

You’re leading with that? A snow leopard should know a little something about subtlety. The town looks to you for stability, Ms… Eats-Blue-Sheep.

snow leopard

(I don’t know a lot about snow leopards)

z11

“What can you tell us about the animals gone savage? Are we safe?”

We now turn to a tasteful montage to answer that question.

z12z13z14

Nah, son.

z15

Don’t get too caught up in the subliminal racism that you miss the fact that a tiger is using an iPad with a paw insignia. A pawpad. How adorable is that. Okay, back to the racism.

z16

“This is priority one.

z17

“Hops –

z18

“Parking duty.”

| ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄  ̄ ̄  ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄|
|      ZPD unfair                      |
|________ _ ___|
(\__/) ||
(•ㅅ•) ||
/   づ”

z20

“Sir, I’m not just some token bunny.”

I like this message. Stand up for yourself and your abilities, no matter how 2-feet-tall you are. I can relate to this.

z21

“You strike out, you resign.”

z22

“Deal.”

Real shady, but I’m into it. Prove him wrong, Hops.

z23z24z25

How many jokes do you think are going to be made on the vein of “we rooted right away for this underdog – excuse me, underrabbit”? That’s unavoidable right? No way only I thought of that joke. When you hear it made, I want you to think of this moment, you and me, where we called it. Together.

z26

“Hello, I’m here to ask you some questions about a case!”

RED ALERT THERE IS A SMALL GERBIL CAR IN THIS SHOT AND IT’S MORE IMPORTANT THAN ANYTHING ELSE

z28

“Then they should have gotten a real cop to solve it.”

Does this orange dirtbag have a child in that pram? Terrible influence. Wonderful voice actor.

z30

“You are under arrest.”

z31

“For what? Hurting your feewings?”

Wow, outstandingly offensive Elmer Fudd reference. Someone get this talking neck wrap to cultural sensitivity training.

z32

“You are a key witness.”

(Chorus of “Savages, savages” from Pocahontas in the background)

z33

“No, he is.”

z34z35

“Hey!”

Sign my petition today to stop this innocent bunny’s pain.

z36

“I need you to run a plate.”

z37

“Okay, I know a guy. You need something, he’s on it.”

??? You’re taking her to the DMV? No one there is ever on anything.

z38

My heart hurts for every creature in this shot.

z39

“They’re all… sloths?”

A m a z i n g

z40

“We are in a really big hurry.”

“I… am… on…”

z41

“it?”

z42

“… break.”

A m a z i n g

z44

“I have thirty-six hours left, we can only solve it together.”

*Banner unfolds from the ceiling, with quickly-made confetti falling around it* Unlikely Friends

z45

“It’s not about how badly you want something, it’s about what you are capable of!”

I want to see thousands of tiny bunnies and humans leaving the theater in March feeling empowered. I’m ready.

z46z47

“I am a real cop.”

I BELIEVE IN YOU JUDY

z48

“Never let them see that they get to you.”

Interesting advice coming from a predator that waits for rabbits to turn and run before it pounces. Smells like

*Banner unrolls from the ceiling to the sound of kazoos* Character Development 

z49z50

“You bunnies. So emotional.”

z51

♫Savages/Savages/Barely even human/Savages/Savages♪

z52

“Do not let go!”

z53

“I’m gonna let go.”

z54

“What?”

Looks like Hops finally realized where she falls on the food chain. Not a bad call.

z56

“We may be evolved, but deep down, we are still animals.”

Shield my daughter’s eyes.

z57

“Wooooo”

“Quit it! You’re gonna start a howl -“

z58

“Woooooo”

One perfect chance to reference the 101 Dalmatians Twilight Bark – wasted.

z59

“Oh, you are naked!”

Eyes front, Nick. Avert that gaze.

z60

“For sure, we’re a naturalist club!”

Animals degraded for acting like animals. What has Zootopia come to?

z61

“All the way down…”

A giraffe doing sun salutations. That’s what I came here for.

z62

There are a lot of things I could point out about this one. Where to start? Maybe I’ll take the minimalist route here and not comment at all. You’re probably already wondering the same things I am anyway.

z63

Judy Hops, voiceover: “Life’s a little bit messy.

z64

Separate but equally important petition to replace minion merch with merch of this perfect elephant toddler.

z65

“We all make mistakes!

z66

“No matter what type of animal you are, change starts with you.”

*Wipes tear*

z67

“We gotta go.”

“Whose car is it?”

“The most feared crime boss, Mr. Biggs!”

z68

Not going to lie, the trailer could also just have been a blank screen with the crawling text, “Mafia-muscle polar bears in track suits.”

z69

Gorgeous.

z70

Judy: “Is that Mr. Biggs?”

Nick: “Stop talking, stop talking.”

z71

“Oh.”

You live in an animated movie, Judy. This is just the kind of gag you should have seen coming. Not that I think less of you.

z72

“Ice ’em.”

z73

Actually ice? Nice touch. It’s all feeling very The Empire Strikes Back and I approve. Two woodland creature carbonite slabs coming up.

z74

“Daddy! What did we say? No icing anyone at my wedding!”

“I have to baby, daddy has to.”

z76

I’m a lot more excited for this glorious-looking movie than I was originally prepared to be. Will I see you there? (Not in the 3D theater. I’m not the kind of person who pays $30 to watch a movie wearing two pairs of glasses you weirdo.)

Let me know what you think! Too furry? Not enough furry? I was nervous, but I’m trusting Disney on this, and also willingly entrusting Judy Hops with my life.

3 Responses to “Trailer Breakdown for Zootopia”

  1. Shahrazad January 7, 2016 at 6:37 pm #

    Oh my goodness! The trailer is one of the best feel-good movies I’ve ever watched. I will probably be so happy during the actual movie that I will melt into my seat, and it will be awkward.
    Wonderful breakdown!

    • Emory January 7, 2016 at 8:22 pm #

      Right, ohmygosh, wasn’t this trailer just super charming? Everything is adorable. And thanks! 🙂

      • Emily C. January 14, 2016 at 11:08 am #

        I know! Super adorable!! (also – yay, again!) ;)))
        Also beautiful, sweet, sure, a little wondering about their furry approach and some subtexts, too, but…. so adorably sweet and ‘you can be yourself’ feel-good.
        Also also… ‘talking neck wrap’? Lol…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

