Trailer Breakdown of Thor: The Dark World

25 Apr

The first trailer for Thor: The Dark World came out this week, so obviously, there have been copious amounts of fangirling going on all over the world. If you already know about this, you’ve probably already watched it. So all that remains is to analyze the trailer, correct?

Excuse me while I do just that. You can enlarge any picture by clicking on it.

First of all: stuff is floating. You all probably noticed that.

thor_1

Why are all the vehicles floating? Is this just how the villain rolls?

yep

BEHOLD THE TERRIFYING AUTOMOBILE-FLOTATION POWER OF MALEKITH, MORTALS.

But who’s this? Is this the prodigal love interest?
thor_2

Why, yes sir. Welcome back, Jane Foster. I see that your ankles have not changed since your last cinematic appearance.

Cue the incessantly vague shots of Malekith.
thor_3

So far all I truly know is that you have an affinity for dark rooms and levitation. I feel like we need to get to know each other a bit more before this movie comes out.

thor_4

Oh, and mass destruction. I missed that bit. File that just above levitation.

Enter everyone’s favorite third wheel.

thor_5

Welcome back Darcy Lewis! If you don’t tase or flirt with Malekith, I’m going to be very disappointed in you.

thor_6

Yes, yes. It wouldn’t be fabulous without this sequence.

BOOM.

thor_7

And that, gentlemen, is how you make an entrance.thor_8

He knows you’re impressed, Jane.thor_9

Look at that face. He knows.thor_10

However, that look on Jane’s face, is not exactly a go-ahead face. I hope you’re not about to whisk her away to a rainbow bridge or some-

zthor_11

Come on, Thor.

thor_12

Here’s to spending your summer in anticipation of November!
thor_13

The look. We all know it. The Lady Sif does not approve of your shenanigans, Thor, and by shenanigans, I mean Padme Jane.

“KRSSHH”

thor_14

It’s nice to be reminded that Midgard isn’t the only horrifyingly disturbed realm.

“If we do nothing, they will destroy us!”

Thor, you’re talking to the actual king of “do nothing,” the man who created a meme with his terrible parenting tactics.thor_15

At least one of his sons didn’t grow up to go insane. That’s all a parent can ask for these days.

Here he comes now. It’s gonna be legen-thor_16

Wait for iiiiiiiit

thor_17

Dary! Legendary!

“Ask yourself -“

What? Is that Christopher Eccleston?

“What will you sacrifice for what you believe?”

Yes it is. It’s the Doctor. This is apparently what happens when you travel alone for too long.

thor_18

You become Darth Vader.

The Ninth Doctor always seemed a little intense and dark to me, but this is getting a bit far.

thor_19

Yes, far too far. Put Padme down, Doctor.

thor_20

“You must be truly desperate to come to me for help.”

I can’t be the only one channeling Nick Fury right now. Say, it Thor, say it. Loki threw that one over the plate for you.

“The Doctor has made me very desperate. He might not be glad that he did.”

“You should know that when you betray me, I will kill you.”

No? Just death threats? All right then, I’ll take what I get. Are we going to get to see Loki? Give us Loki! If they don’t let us see Loki in this trailer, I am going to be very, extremely

thor_21

What have they DONE

20 Responses to “Trailer Breakdown of Thor: The Dark World”

  1. The Wasp April 25, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    This is one of the best posts so far… well done.
    And Loki! Really, people? At least bring him a hairbrush with his food and water! But what can you do. I’m still beyond exited for this movie (:

    • Emory April 25, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

      Aw, thank you so much!
      And, um, RIGHT? This humiliation is way out of proportion with that little misdemeanour Loki made in the Avengers! Pfff

  2. Invisible Woman April 25, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    So, evidently the new standard for commenting is to use the super-hero alter-ego nicknames given to us by your lovely self…..Invisible Woman it is then!
    Also, thank you for making…. well… my life.
    It was quite a pleasure to read this blog.
    I applaud you.

    • Emory April 25, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      Thank you so much, Invisible Woman!
      I am unutterably pleased to know that you enjoyed it! 🙂

  3. Emily C. April 26, 2013 at 8:38 am #

    Laughing. Again. 🙂 Your blog is always fun. I just saw it yesterday too!! Alternating between ‘ooo’/’huhH??’/wait… what?! Knew that CE was in it, but didn’t even realize that was him. Wondering what was up with the levitating, too…. and… and then… that //ending//?!? Loki…. when did thou turn in a beach bum?

    • Emory April 26, 2013 at 11:25 am #

      Thank you! I’m so happy you liked it!
      And Loki — No. Just no. You are burdened with glorious purpose, not beach bum hair. My approval is not given.

      • Emily C. April 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

        I really, really… really should know by now to not be nibbling on something or what have you when looking at my usual blogs. :PPP ;D
        I. . . Seriously… /look/ at him!!! Um… I think this is what we get when the little brother gets no love or an identity crisis, has a falling out, and rebels by starting his own punk rock beach band.

      • Emily C. April 29, 2013 at 9:19 am #

        Oh, and by the way…. not to spam you again, but presuming you’re a fan of /all/ the awesome Avengers, I wondered if you saw this recent tweet? 😉 😉

        (so excited….)

      • Emory April 29, 2013 at 10:50 am #

        oh, hm, NO I DID NOT SEE THAT TWEET OHMYGOSH

        Thank you for showing it to me! 🙂

      • Emily C. April 29, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

        Ha! Yes, yes, yes, yes, eee, yes! Science Bros! ;D Yes, Mr. Mark, we /were/ wondering! Even if we did not know we were wondering!
        (hee…. wow… and look how many instantly spread the word… sheesh… 😉 )

      • Whovian99 July 15, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

        Our poor Loki!! We should gather his army of fangirls and bang down the doors of Asgard to give him the comb, straightener and gel he so desperately needs!! I don’t like the beach bum style any better than either of you guys do.

  4. Whovian99 July 12, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    Wait. Wait. YOU DIDN’T CARE MUCH FOR NINE? WHAT ARE YOU INSANE?!!!? WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU? WE CAN NEVER BE FRIENDS. Well, maybe. But TOO DARK? Are you serious? Too dark? Really? Like really? He was funny and hilarious and sweet and each of the Doctors have their dark side. Please, tell me I misunderstood you! PLEASE!

    You know, I don’t mean any offense, I’d LOVE to be friends and we still can even if you ‘don’t care much for Nine’, but I get really defensive when someone says they didn’t care for Nine or he was horrible or he was crap or–or. I’m sorry. I get way to carried away, but people–come on Nine was amazing!! He got the whole show back on the road!

    Sorry, I really do hate to rant, but I couldn’t help it. I love my Nine too much. 😛

    • Emory July 12, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

      Yesyesyes, I would be happy to say you misunderstood! I didn’t say it very well in this post – but I love Nine. Love him. Lovelovelove. He was my first Doctor, but in my own personal opinion, he did seem a bit more intense (not TOO intense) than the other Doctors because of hopping straight from the Time War to the reboot of the show. Though, actually, you’re right, they all had their moments of intensity and darkness.
      And still, none of them fit very well into the “Malekith-force-choking-Padme-I-mean-Jane” scenario. I feel like the Doctor (any of them) would more likely be Thor falling to his knees in agony in the next shot of the trailer.
      Anyhooo, Nine still has a special place in my heart as the man to introduce me to the show. Sorry to accidentally offend! No harm meant! 🙂

      • Whovian99 July 14, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

        Oh my gosh!!! I’m SO glad to find out I misunderstood you! I’m really sorry for being so defensive and attacking you. 😛 I hate how underappreciated Nine is. 😡
        He was my first Doctor also, and I will love him forever, and he’ll always be my favorite. Yeah, he was a bit more intense than the rest of the Doctors, but he was fun and goofy at times, but people think he was so DARK and was never as fun as 10 or 11. 😦
        And please, don’t apologize, it was my fault!
        Btw, I LOVE your blog! So much awesomeness here, and now I’ll have someone to fangirl with!! Yay! 🙂

      • Emory July 15, 2013 at 11:33 am #

        Thank you so much! You brought more awesomeness with you, obviously. Fangirls are ALWAYS welcome here. Looking forward to fangirling with you in the future! 😀

      • Whovian99 July 15, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

        Aw, thanks. 🙂 And brilliant!! Can’t wait to start fangirling as well. Seriously, Tom Hiddleston and Christopher Eccleston (ha, and they are BOTH going to play the baddies) being in the SAME movie–my gosh, I think my heart just may burst when I go see it in theaters! And if they are in a scene together both of them–i juSt caN’t–I CAn’t eVEn–WHAT IS AIR? ❤ ❤ ❤

      • Emory July 15, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

        DON’T EVEN SPEAK OF SOMETHING SO GLORIOUS

      • Whovian99 July 15, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

        Oh darn, I just realized my mistake. We can’t have a have a fangirl brains exploding. I feel a bit pressure in my temples, this may be fatal.

      • Whovian99 July 15, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

        *our — See? I can’t even talk right

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trailer Breakdown of The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug | Freak of Fandom - June 12, 2013

    […] Also, fighting Orcs and living in caves. Hair is probably the least of his worries. He and Loki should meet up and talk it […]

Leave a comment